The 5 brokers on this page, ranked
Ordered by our global published score, highest first. There is no US score, because there is no US test; each name links to that broker's US review.
- OANDA: highest global score of the five, 92 out of 100
- tastyfx: second-highest global score of the five, 68.2 out of 100
- FOREX.com: third-highest global score of the five, 67.6 out of 100
- Interactive Brokers: fourth-highest global score of the five, 62.3 out of 100
- Charles Schwab: fifth-highest global score of the five, 51.2 out of 100
Which 5 US forex brokers are best for beginners?
1. OANDA: highest global score of the five
Advertised EUR/USD spread
1.4 pips, advertised, Spread-only pricing account
Platforms
OANDA Trade (web, mobile, tablet), TradingView, MetaTrader 4
NFA registration
OANDA Corporation, NFA ID 0325821, FCM and RFED, Forex Dealer Member since October 7, 2010
Retail forex obligations, July 2026
US$132,445,959, second of six reporting firms (CFTC financial data)
Why We Recommend OANDA
I recommend OANDA to a US beginner who wants practice without a clock. Its demo account does not expire, its US help pages say, so you can try strategies for as long as you wish, and you add the virtual funds yourself. To me, that open-ended practice is the right shape for a first-timer, and a patient beginner has time to let a strategy prove itself before any money moves. I would send a nervous newcomer here.
Pros & Cons
- You can fund by debit card, wire transfer, or ACH bank transfer.
- The US education hub has an introduction to trading section addressed to new traders.
- EUR/USD is advertised at 1.4 pips on the spread-only pricing account, from a table headed "Spread".
- MT4 sub-accounts are closed after 90 days of inactivity.
- Its US site does not list the base currencies an account can be opened in.
- Its US site lists no futures or options product.
Broker's Detail
OANDA Corporation, NFA ID 0325821, is registered with the CFTC as a Futures Commission Merchant, effective March 14, 2003, and as a Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer, effective October 5, 2010 (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026).
On cost, the spread-only pricing account wraps the commission into the spread, and its US pricing page presents pair spreads in a table headed "Spread". In my view, one wrapped number is easier to read when you are starting out.
| What the US site states | Source |
|---|---|
| No, your demo account does not expire, and you can use it for as long as you wish. However, MT4 sub-accounts are closed after 90 days of inactivity. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| Sharpen your trading skills with our comprehensive suite of educational articles. Master everything across fundamental and technical analysis, from leveraged trading and risk management to the complexities of indicators and oscillators. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
2. tastyfx: second-highest global score of the five
Advertised EUR/USD spread
0.8 pips, advertised minimum, Standard account
Platforms
tastyfx platforms, TradingView, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, ProRealTime
NFA registration
tastyfx LLC, NFA ID 0509630, RFED, Forex Dealer Member since October 15, 2018
Retail forex obligations, July 2026
US$49,950,447, fourth of six reporting firms (CFTC financial data)
Why We Recommend tastyfx
I would send a first-timer who wants a fixed practice balance to tastyfx. Its demo account comes with US$10,000 of virtual funds, its US site says, and that fixed balance suits a beginner who wants a known budget to work with, while learning how orders behave. I would try the beginners guides before my first simulated trade.
Pros & Cons
- The learn hub covers what forex is, why and how to trade it, and risk management including margin calls.
- Beginners guides include Forex Trading for Beginners, Forex Charts for Beginners, and What Are Forex Pairs.
- The accounts page tells new traders to start by paper trading in a tastyfx demo account.
- The Zero+ account charges a commission of US$5 per lot.
- When closing positions on non-USD quote currency pairs, profit or loss is converted to US dollars with a 0.5% charge applied to the conversion rate.
- Its US site does not state the account base currency.
Broker's Detail
tastyfx LLC, NFA ID 0509630, is registered with the CFTC as a Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer, effective October 15, 2018, and as an Introducing Broker, effective December 10, 2024 (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026). Its published score is its parent group's global score applied to tastyfx.
On cost, the Standard account carries no commission and advertises EUR/USD at a 0.8 pip minimum, the Prime account advertises a 0.6 pip minimum, and the Zero+ account advertises 0 pips minimum with a commission (its US accounts pages). I would read the Standard account's figures first when you compare.
Its learn hub's forex need-to-knows page presents itself as a complete guide for beginners, including details on how to get started (its US learn hub).
| What the US site states | Source |
|---|---|
| Practice trading with $10,000 virtual funds | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| Master the basics of the biggest market in the world. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
3. FOREX.com: third-highest global score of the five
Advertised EUR/USD spread
1.2 pips, advertised minimum, Spread-only account
Platforms
FOREX.com platform (web, mobile), TradingView, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5
NFA registration
GAIN Capital Group LLC, NFA ID 0339826, FCM and RFED, Forex Dealer Member since October 7, 2010
Retail forex obligations, July 2026
US$204,121,663, first of six reporting firms (CFTC financial data)
Why We Recommend FOREX.com
I recommend FOREX.com for a beginner who wants structure. Its demo platform carries US$50,000 in virtual funds, its US site says. This is where I would send a beginner who wants lessons in a set order beside the demo. The lessons first, then the demo, is the order I would follow.
Pros & Cons
- A self-assessment quiz places you in a Beginner, Intermediate, or Advanced course before you start.
- A six-part Trader's Course on video helps you develop key skills for any market.
- Free interactive livestreams with market analysts cover market-moving events with Q&A sessions.
- The RAW pricing account charges a commission of US$7 per US$100,000 traded.
- The demo platform runs for 90 days.
- Its US site does not list the base currencies an account can be opened in.
Broker's Detail
GAIN Capital Group LLC, NFA ID 0339826, is registered with the CFTC as a Futures Commission Merchant, effective July 29, 2004, and as a Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer, effective October 7, 2010 (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026).
On cost, the Spread-only account advertises EUR/USD "as low as" 1.2 pips with no commissions, and the RAW pricing account advertises a typical 0.1 pips, the page defining Typical as the median spread available, with "as low as" 0 (its US trade-prices page). I would read the Typical column when you compare, since a minimum is a floor.
Its learning hub is the Trading Academy, addressed to new traders and veterans alike (its US Trading Academy).
| What the US site states | Source |
|---|---|
| Trade risk-free for 90 days on our full-featured demo platform. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| Whether you’re a veteran trader or new to the markets, the FOREX.com Trading Academy equips you with the skills you need to reach your trading potential. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
4. Interactive Brokers: fourth-highest global score of the five
Advertised EUR/USD spread
Not published on the US site
Platforms
IBKR Desktop, Trader Workstation (TWS), IBKR Mobile
NFA registration
Interactive Brokers LLC, NFA ID 0258600, FCM, Forex Dealer Member since April 19, 2012
Retail forex obligations, July 2026
US$26,190,990, fifth of six reporting firms (CFTC financial data)
Why We Recommend Interactive Brokers
I would send a beginner who plans to trade across products to Interactive Brokers. Its Free Trial lets you rehearse in conditions close to live ones, and in my view that makes it the practice ground for someone who wants the first live deposit to hold no surprises about costs. I would take the beginner pathway first, and I would keep my practice on IBKR Desktop.
Pros & Cons
- The Free Trial gives paper trading with simulated funds.
- Prices and account values in the simulation include commissions and fees.
- The published beginner pathway includes a Paper Trading Account course.
- Its US site publishes no EUR/USD spread figure.
- Its US site does not state a forex margin rate.
- Its US site does not list the base currencies an account can be opened in.
Broker's Detail
Interactive Brokers LLC, NFA ID 0258600, is registered with the CFTC as a Futures Commission Merchant, effective December 2, 1994 (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026).
On cost, its US site states a commission of 0.08 to 0.20 bps times the trade size, "with no hidden spreads or markups" as the site words it (its US spot currencies page). Before you fund, I would read that commission line and work out what my first trades would cost.
Its learning hub is Traders' Academy: free online courses on the concepts and tools of financial trading, spanning stocks, options, bonds, economics, platform tools, futures, taxes, and an Introduction to Forex, designed for learners at all experience levels (its US campus pages).
| What the US site states | Source |
|---|---|
| Try IBKR risk-free with simulated funds. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| This pathway provides a foundation in investing concepts, platform navigation, and trading practice before moving into more specialized asset classes and strategies. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
5. Charles Schwab: fifth-highest global score of the five
Advertised EUR/USD spread
Not published on the US site
Platforms
thinkorswim desktop, thinkorswim web, thinkorswim mobile
NFA registration
Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC, NFA ID 0477394, FCM, Forex Dealer Member since February 16, 2016
Retail forex obligations, July 2026
US$55,996,755, third of six reporting firms (CFTC financial data)
Why We Recommend Charles Schwab
I recommend Charles Schwab for a beginner who wants a large fixed practice balance. thinkorswim paperMoney gives US$100,000 of virtual buying power, its US site says, and it is good for beginners and advanced traders alike. All forex trading at Schwab is done on thinkorswim, its US site says, so the platform you practice on is the platform you would trade on. I would watch a coaching session before my first simulated trade.
Pros & Cons
- thinkorswim paperMoney lets you practice without risking any money, using real-time market data.
- The forex topic hub includes a guide titled "Foreign Exchange (Forex) Trading for Beginners".
- Schwab Coaching live sessions let you learn from experts in an interactive setting.
- A Schwab account is required to log in to thinkorswim and use the paperMoney feature.
- Its US site publishes no EUR/USD spread figure.
- Its US site does not state a forex margin requirement.
Broker's Detail
Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC, NFA ID 0477394, is registered with the CFTC as a Futures Commission Merchant, effective October 3, 2014 (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026).
On cost, forex trading is commission-free and trade costs are reflected in the bid-ask spread, its US site says (its US forex page). I would still look at the live EUR/USD spread before you fund, since the cost sits inside it.
Its learning hub gathers curated forex articles and videos under a forex topic on its learn pages (its US forex and learn pages).
| What the US site states | Source |
|---|---|
| Practice trading with $100,000 of virtual buying power. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| Nail down the basics of forex trading with these curated articles and videos. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
Demo accounts and learning hubs at the 5 brokers, side by side
The table below sets five of the six registered dealers side by side, the five whose own US sites offer both a standing practice account and a learning hub. Each row quotes the practice-account sentence and the learning-hub sentence from the broker’s own US site, next to the legal entity on the register and the advertised EUR/USD spread. The quotes are the brokers’ own statements, read on September 23, 2026.
| Broker | NFA entity (NFA ID) | Demo account, as the US site states it | Learning hub, as the US site states it | Advertised EUR/USD spread and basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OANDA | OANDA Corporation (0325821) | No, your demo account does not expire, and you can use it for as long as you wish. However, MT4 sub-accounts are closed after 90 days of inactivity. | Sharpen your trading skills with our comprehensive suite of educational articles. Master everything across fundamental and technical analysis, from leveraged trading and risk management to the complexities of indicators and oscillators. | 1.4 pips, advertised, Spread-only pricing account | Demo: US site, September 23, 2026 Learning hub: US site, September 23, 2026 |
| tastyfx | tastyfx LLC (0509630) | Practice trading with $10,000 virtual funds | Master the basics of the biggest market in the world. | 0.8 pips, advertised minimum, Standard account | Demo: US site, September 23, 2026 Learning hub: US site, September 23, 2026 |
| FOREX.com | GAIN Capital Group LLC (0339826) | Trade risk-free for 90 days on our full-featured demo platform. | Whether you’re a veteran trader or new to the markets, the FOREX.com Trading Academy equips you with the skills you need to reach your trading potential. | 1.2 pips, advertised minimum, Spread-only account | Demo: US site, September 23, 2026 Learning hub: US site, September 23, 2026 |
| Interactive Brokers | Interactive Brokers LLC (0258600) | Try IBKR risk-free with simulated funds. | This pathway provides a foundation in investing concepts, platform navigation, and trading practice before moving into more specialized asset classes and strategies. | Not published on the US site | Demo: US site, September 23, 2026 Learning hub: US site, September 23, 2026 |
| Charles Schwab | Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC (0477394) | Practice trading with $100,000 of virtual buying power. | Nail down the basics of forex trading with these curated articles and videos. | Not published on the US site | Demo: US site, September 23, 2026 Learning hub: US site, September 23, 2026 |
Which forex trading platform is best for beginners in the USA?
OANDA is where I would start. It has the highest global published score of the five brokers here, 92 out of 100, and this list is ordered by that score. We have measured no practice account at a US entity. After OANDA, route yourself by the practice terms. A demo that never expires keeps you with OANDA. A fixed virtual balance suits you at tastyfx and Charles Schwab. FOREX.com runs a full-featured demo platform for a set period with virtual funds. Interactive Brokers gives simulated prices and account values that include commissions and fees, so your practice carries live costs.
How much money do you need to start trading forex as a beginner in the US?
The table below prints each broker’s stated minimum deposit, so start there. Once you trade, your first deposit meets the security deposit on a position: 2% of the notional value of a retail forex transaction on major currency pairs and 5% on all other currency pairs (17 CFR 5.9). On a position with a notional value of US$5,000, that is US$100 on a major pair and US$250 on any other pair (our arithmetic). Before you fund anything, I would use a practice account, and three US sites call theirs risk-free: FOREX.com (“Trade risk-free for 90 days”), Interactive Brokers (“Try IBKR risk-free with simulated funds”), and Charles Schwab, whose paperMoney lets you practice “without risking any money”.
| Broker | Minimum deposit, as stated | Source |
|---|---|---|
| OANDA | US$0 (stated for bank wire transfer) | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| tastyfx | US$0 (Standard, Zero+), US$50,000 (Prime) | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| FOREX.com | US$100 (minimum initial deposit) | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| Interactive Brokers | US$0 (account minimum, IBKR Pro and IBKR Lite) | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| Charles Schwab | US$0 (to open a Schwab account and use thinkorswim; product minimums apply) | US site, September 23, 2026 |
How do you choose a forex broker in the US as a beginner?
I would start with the register. Look the legal entity up on NFA BASIC by its NFA ID, as the CFTC tells a US resident to “verify that the entity is properly registered with the CFTC”, and confirm that the entity named on the broker’s US disclosure page is the one registered. Then try the practice account before you deposit, and read its terms: how long it runs and what balance it carries. Read the advertised EUR/USD spread with its basis word and the account it belongs to, since a minimum, a typical, and an average are different figures. Last, read the security deposit and FIFO terms where the dealer’s US site states them: OANDA, tastyfx, and FOREX.com publish both. Where a site does not, the rules that apply are 17 CFR 5.9’s security deposit on a retail forex transaction and NFA Compliance Rule 2-43(b), under which a Forex Dealer Member may not carry offsetting positions in a customer account and must offset them on a first-in, first-out basis.
How should a beginner start trading forex in the US?
Learn first, from the broker’s own beginner material. FOREX.com places you in a Beginner, Intermediate, or Advanced course with a self-assessment quiz, Interactive Brokers’ Traders’ Academy courses are free and its beginner pathway includes a Paper Trading Account course, and Schwab adds live coaching sessions to its forex articles and videos. Then open a practice account and practice until your simulated results make sense to you, since the Interactive Brokers pathway itself puts the Paper Trading Account course before specialized material. Only then fund a live account with the legal entity you checked on NFA BASIC. That order, learn, practice, then fund, is the one I would follow.
More US forex broker pages
The other pages built on the same six registered dealers. The anchor text is each page's own heading.
Our reviews are reader-supported. We may receive payment when you click a link to a partner site. Learn how we make money.
FAQs
Do US forex demo accounts expire?
How much virtual money does a US forex demo account give?
Can I trade forex in the US without MetaTrader?
Which account type can a beginner open without paying a commission?
Is the beginner education at these brokers free?
Related pages
About the author
Justin Grossbard is the CEO & Co-Founder of CompareForexBrokers established in 2014, along with Noam Korbl and works as Strategic Head Of Research.