Skip to content
Compare Forex Brokers

ThinkMarkets Review New Zealand 2026

#4 of 10 rated for New Zealand

NZ desk assessment

TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd holds an FMA derivatives issuer licence granted in 2021, and the entity is registered on the Financial Service Providers Register under FSP623289. There is no negative balance protection, and a client remains liable for any negative position that closing out cannot cover.

Your monthly costStandard account, EUR/USD: 0.8 pips, published minimum
at least US$80.00a month to trade 10 standard lots
FMA derivatives issuer licence held by TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd · FSP registration FSP623289 · licensed since 17 December 2021
FMA register checked:
Min deposit
50, currency not stated, or the equivalent in your account currency
Platform types
2
Execution
248 ms, global
FMA licence
ACTIVE
Our reviews are reader-supported. We may receive payment when you click a link to a partner site. Learn how we make money.

Trading Forex and CFDs with leverage poses significant risk of loss to your capital.

What trading ThinkMarkets costs

One standard lot of EUR/USD on ThinkMarkets' standard account costs at least US$8.00 for the round turn: 0.8 pips of spread (US$8.00), with no commission.

Cost of trading EUR/USD with ThinkMarkets, at 1 standard lot and 20 trades a month
AccountA month of tradingOne round turn, 1 lot
One spread, no commission0.8 pips, published minimum at least US$160.00 at least US$8.00

A pip on EUR/USD is US$10.00 per standard lot, so the cost of a round turn is the spread in pips times that, plus any commission.

Ready to see the platform?

Our verdict on ThinkMarkets

I would send a New Zealand trader to ThinkMarkets if they were after commission-free dealing on the firm's own ThinkTrader platform, and I would do it knowing the terms they sign. The statement is plain that a client can lose more funds than they deposit and may have to deposit more, and that no negative balance protection applies (page 14). That is the pause, and it is a real one.

My recommendation stands. The NZ desk score is 81, an editorial desk judgement built from the same eight weighted categories, drawn from published sources rather than any test. There is a further term worth weighing before you deposit: a New Zealand client's funds are pooled with other clients' money in the client funds trust account (page 24).

Pros

  • Holds an active FMA derivatives issuer licence, granted 17 December 2021, under the trading name Thinkmarkets.
  • Zero commission applies to the ThinkTrader account, EUR/USD carries a 0.8 pip minimum in the broker's New Zealand specifications table, and 1.0 lot costs at least US$8.00 a round turn.
  • ThinkTrader as the broker's own platform, TradingView reached by connecting a ThinkTrader account, and a demo account listed on the New Zealand site.
  • Client money is segregated from the firm's own money and held on trust in bank accounts (page 24).
  • The firm charges no fee to process a withdrawal, though a bank or payment processor may deduct one (page 23).

Cons

  • No negative balance protection: a client remains liable for any negative position that closing out cannot cover (page 14).
  • Client funds are pooled with other clients' money in the client funds trust account (page 24).
  • The firm is entitled to retain any interest on positive balances in the client funds trust account (page 23).
  • Market order fills tested at 248 ms, 35th of 36 brokers on our global execution table

ThinkMarkets score breakdown

CFB score 81 of 100: each area's rating
AreaRating
Trading Costs8/10
Trading Experience8.5/10
Trust8/10
Trading Platform8/10
Customer Service8/10
Range of Markets8/10
Education8/10
Funding8/10

NZ desk assessment, scored from published information, not tested

How is our rating calculated?

Our New Zealand assessment

81 is ThinkMarkets' NZ desk score, an editorial desk judgement scored from published information, not tested, with no New Zealand test behind it. Its New Zealand retail account is ThinkTrader, with zero commission and TradingView connection. For wider platform choice, compare our BlackBull Markets review, which offers MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView.

No account was used, no fills or slippage were measured, and support channels were scored only as published.

Score basis:
AI-assisted desk-based assessment, 8 weighted categories
Source review:
16 October 2026
View the source screenshot
ThinkMarkets ThinkTrader account page on its public website
ThinkMarkets' published ThinkTrader account page viewed from New Zealand on 16 October 2026, not account testing.
The Financial Markets Authority register page for TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd, showing licence category derivatives issuers, FSP623289, licence granted 17 December 2021 and licence status active.
ThinkMarkets’ New Zealand licence on the FMA register: TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd, FSP623289, derivatives issuer licence granted 17 December 2021, status active. Checked 19 September 2026. Source: Financial Markets Authority. FSP623289 is a registration identifying the company, not the licence.

How popular is ThinkMarkets in New Zealand?

New Zealanders made 40 branded searches for ThinkMarkets in August 2026, placing it 6th of the 6 brokers we review. Search interest measures attention, not quality; the score above is the review verdict.

6of 6Search interest rank
40
Brand searches, August 2026
n/a below 1,000
vs July 2026
10
Login searches
0.4%
Share of all searches

Source: Google search volume, New Zealand, August 2026.

How this is measured

Google Ads reports how many times a month people in New Zealand searched each broker's brand terms, and the brokers are ranked on that figure alone.

A term counts for a broker only when that broker's own website holds the first organic Google result for it in New Zealand; bare brand words that any company could own are left out.

A month-on-month change prints only where the previous month reached 1,000 searches, because Google rounds smaller volumes.

These figures were collected once and are not refreshed monthly, unlike the monthly refreshes for this site's other markets; the first-organic-result check, which determines which search terms count for which broker, was run once on 20 September 2026 and does not repeat.

How safe is ThinkMarkets?

Yes, TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd holds an active derivatives issuer licence from the FMA, granted on 17 December 2021, and is separately registered as a Financial Service Provider, FSP623289. I confirmed the licence status on the FMA register, read on 19 September 2026.

Eleven facts on ThinkMarkets licence and enforcement, each with the record it comes from.
What the record says about ThinkMarkets, one row per fact, each with the document or test it comes from and, for a fact from the product disclosure statement, the page it is on.
FactWhat the record saysSource
Licensee name on the FMA registerTF Global Markets (Aust) LtdFMA licensed providers register
Issuer named in the statementThinkMarkets is a trading name of TF Global Markets (Aust) Pty Ltd, an Australian-incorporated derivatives issuerProduct disclosure statement, page 25
Registration number on the Financial Service Providers RegisterFSP623289FMA licensed providers register
Licence categoryDerivatives issuersFMA licensed providers register
Licence statusActiveFMA licensed providers register
Licence granted17 December 2021FMA licensed providers register, licence granted field
Register read on19 September 2026FMA licensed providers register
FMA enforcement action against this companyNone found, searched 21 September 2026FMA enforcement search on fma.govt.nz
What the statement says about regulationholds a derivatives issuer licence from the FMA and, separately, Australian Financial Services Licence 424700Product disclosure statement, page 25
Regulators of the groupASIC, FCA (United Kingdom), CySEC, JFSA, DFSA (Dubai), FSCA (South Africa), CIMA, FSA (Seychelles), FSC-M, FMA (New Zealand)Our global broker test
Licensee register pagehttps://www.fma.govt.nz/business/licensed-providers/tf-global-markets-aust-ltd/FMA licensed providers register

Every row above names its own record: seven from the FMA register, two from the product disclosure statement, one from an FMA enforcement search and one from our global broker test.

Some of the abbreviations on this page are expanded to the regulator's full name: a broker regulated by FCA is regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority; by DFSA, the Dubai Financial Services Authority.

The register lists both, and the two are different things. The FSP registration is not the licence: it is this licence, the derivatives issuer licence, that authorises the issuing of the derivatives a New Zealand client trades, and the registration sits alongside it. The register holds the trading name Thinkmarkets for this entity. More on the derivatives issuer licence and the full register.

FMA regulation and global licences

The licence category on the register is derivatives issuers, and the licence status is active (FMA register). That is what the register holds for this entity, and it is the licence a New Zealand client contracts under.

The wider ThinkMarkets group is regulated outside New Zealand by the FCA in the United Kingdom, CySEC, the JFSA, the DFSA in Dubai, the FSCA in South Africa, CIMA, the FSA in Seychelles and the FSC-M (our global broker record).

FMA enforcement history

A search of fma.govt.nz on 21 September 2026 under 4 search terms returned no FMA enforcement action against this company: TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd, TF Global Markets, ThinkMarkets, Thinkmarkets.

Source: the Financial Markets Authority, fma.govt.nz, searched 21 September 2026.

ThinkMarkets client money and dispute scheme

A New Zealand client contracts with the entity the statement names on page 25: ThinkMarkets is a trading name of TF Global Markets (Aust) Pty Ltd, an Australian-incorporated derivatives issuer. The FMA register names the licensee TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd, and each source carries its own spelling.

Eight facts on ThinkMarkets client money and complaints, each with the record it comes from.
What the record says about ThinkMarkets, one row per fact, each with the document or test it comes from and, for a fact from the product disclosure statement, the page it is on.
FactWhat the record saysSource
Where client money is heldsegregated from the firm's own money and held on trust in one or more bank accounts, pooled with other clients' moneyProduct disclosure statement, page 24
Whether client money is pooledclient funds are pooled with other clients' money in the trust accountProduct disclosure statement, page 24
Interest on client moneyThinkMarkets keeps the interest, calculated daily, on positive balances in the client funds trust accountProduct disclosure statement, page 23
Time the firm has to respond21 days from the initial complaint is the firm's own targetProduct disclosure statement, page 25
Scheme telephoneIFSO Scheme, telephone 0800 888 202Product disclosure statement, page 25
Cost to the client of using the schemeno cost to use IFSOProduct disclosure statement, page 25
Fee on an account already in negative balanceno fee is charged on an account that is already in negative balanceProduct disclosure statement, page 23
Losing more than you deposita client can lose more than they deposit and may have to deposit moreProduct disclosure statement, page 14

Every row above comes from one record, the product disclosure statement.

History and ownership

The FMA register holds the licensee as TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd, with the trading name Thinkmarkets. The product disclosure statement, page 25, names the issuer TF Global Markets (Aust) Pty Ltd and says it holds a derivatives issuer licence from the FMA and, separately, Australian Financial Services Licence 424700. Both names are on record, each from its own source.

Where a New Zealand client’s money is held

Client money is segregated from the firm’s own money and held on trust in one or more bank accounts (page 24). Client funds are pooled with other clients’ money in that trust account (page 24). The firm is entitled to retain any interest, calculated daily, on positive balances in the client funds trust account (page 23).

Who a New Zealand client contracts with

Margin FX contracts and CFDs are derivatives, which are contracts between you and ThinkMarkets that may require you or ThinkMarkets to make payments. The contract specifies the terms on which those payments must be made (page 2).

How to complain, and who hears it

ThinkMarkets is a member of an independent dispute resolution scheme operated by the Insurance and Financial Services Ombudsman Scheme, the IFSO Scheme (page 25). Membership number 5004399 appears in the broker’s New Zealand website footer, read on 13 October 2026, and the IFSO telephone line is 0800 888 202 (page 25), with the scheme’s site at www.ifso.nz (page 25). The firm’s own target is to try to resolve a complaint within 21 days from the day of the initial complaint (page 25), and there is no cost to a client to use IFSO services (page 25).

ThinkMarkets at a glance

The licence and client money facts are in the two sections above.

Four key facts on ThinkMarkets, each with the record it comes from.
What the record says about ThinkMarkets, one row per fact, each with the document or test it comes from and, for a fact from the product disclosure statement, the page it is on.
FactWhat the record saysSource
Published score70 out of 100, globalOur global broker test
Standard EUR/USD round turnat least US$8.00 per 1.0 lot, 0.8 pips published minimumBroker site, read 13 October 2026
Limit order fill161 ms, globalOur global broker test
Market order fill248 ms, globalOur global broker test

Every row above names its own record: three from our global broker test and one from the broker's own site.

ThinkMarkets spreads and commission

Nothing here was measured on a New Zealand account. The EUR/USD figure is a minimum the broker publishes itself, drawn from its New Zealand contract specifications. Every figure in this section is held in US dollars.

Raw spread plus commission

The New Zealand section carries no raw spread plus commission account. ThinkZero, the broker’s raw account, sits on its Australian site, whose footer states that the Australian licence covers serving people and businesses located in Australia. The account’s New Zealand web address returned a not-found result.

One spread, no commission

The ThinkTrader account, per its New Zealand page, takes no commission. EUR/USD carries a 0.8 pip minimum in the New Zealand contract specifications, a published figure rather than one anybody here measured, which builds to a round turn of at least US$8.00 on 1.0 lot: 0.8 pips at US$10.00 a pip. A floor is what a published minimum is, so actual trades can sit above it, never below.

What it costs to trade with ThinkMarkets

The round turns above are the trading cost; the fees below are standing costs that can catch a New Zealand trader who does not read the statement’s fee pages.

Nine facts on ThinkMarkets fees, each with the record it comes from.
What the record says about ThinkMarkets, one row per fact, each with the document or test it comes from and, for a fact from the product disclosure statement, the page it is on.
FactWhat the record saysSource
One spread, no commission: EUR/USD spread0.8 pips, published minimumBroker site, read 13 October 2026
One spread, no commission: commission per 1.0 lot round turnNoneBroker site, read 13 October 2026
One spread, no commission: cost per 1.0 lot round turnat least US$8.00Computed, spread times US$10 a pip plus commission
Spread measured on a New Zealand accountNone heldOur global broker test, New Zealand record
Administration chargesNZD 25 for a posted hard-copy duplicate statementProduct disclosure statement, page 23
Holding cost on a Wednesdaythe swap rate is tripled on Wednesday to cover the Friday to Monday value periodProduct disclosure statement, page 22
Third-party plug-in feesthird-party platform plug-ins may charge fees the firm deducts from the account and remitsProduct disclosure statement, page 23
Commission rule in the statementbetween 0 and 5 per cent of the opening and closing transaction value, depending on platform and account typeProduct disclosure statement, page 21
Introducing broker commissionan introducing broker's commission is charged either as a fixed amount a side or as extra spread, for example two basis pointsProduct disclosure statement, page 21

Every row above names its own record: five from the product disclosure statement, two from the broker's own site, one from a computation over those figures and one from our global broker test.

Other fees a New Zealand trader should check

Card deposits read “0 fees on all funding methods” on the broker’s New Zealand deposit page; the statement permits a percentage fee per card payment, shown on the website and taken at payment (page 23). A posted hard-copy duplicate statement costs NZ$25 per statement (page 23). The swap rate is tripled on Wednesday to cover the Friday to Monday value period (page 22). The firm charges no fee to process a withdrawal, though a bank or payment processor may deduct one (page 23). Third-party platform plug-ins may charge fees the firm deducts from the account and remits (page 23).

ThinkMarkets funding methods and withdrawal times

The product disclosure statement sets out how a New Zealand client funds an account (page 24).

Funding routes in the statement: online bank transfer, international telegraphic transfer, or credit card or electronic gateway provider (Product disclosure statement, page 24)

Withdrawal fee: no withdrawal fee from ThinkMarkets, though a bank or payment processor may deduct one (Product disclosure statement, page 23)

Deposit methods (NZ clients)

The statement’s funding rule, page 24, is online bank transfer, international telegraphic transfer, or payment through a credit card or electronic gateway provider. On the New Zealand deposit page, bank wire and Visa and Mastercard deposits carry zero fee, and the firm’s footnote says it does not typically pass on processing fees, though banks and payment processors may charge. The statement still allows a card fee, a percentage shown on the website and deducted at the transaction (page 23).

Withdrawals

Withdrawals are processed within business hours, processing is typically same day and may take up to 2 business days, and it can take between 1 and 7 business days for you to receive your funds (page 24). You request a withdrawal through the client portal for any Available Margin, which the statement defines as your total equity less your current total margin requirement, so the amount you can withdraw is not your account balance (pages 7 and 24). If you are on margin call you cannot withdraw funds, and all funds must be cleared before the firm releases any payment (page 24). Third-party withdrawals are prohibited, and under the firm’s return to source policy, funds withdrawn by bank wire must go to a verified external bank account in the same name as your ThinkMarkets account (page 24). The firm charges no fee to process a withdrawal, though your bank or payment processing provider may deduct one from the amount (page 23).

Account opening

Before an account opens, the firm applies its suitability gate: a client who will not supply information about their derivatives knowledge and experience cannot be accepted (page 26).

ThinkMarkets accounts and minimum deposit

The statement sets out a commission rule rather than named account tiers: commission runs between 0 per cent and 5 per cent of the executed opening and closing transaction value, depending on platform and account type (page 21). An introducing broker’s commission may be charged either as a fixed amount a side or as extra spread, for example two basis points (page 21). ThinkMarkets’ New Zealand website names the ThinkTrader account as its retail offering, charging zero commission, and offers no account of the raw spread plus commission type.

Four facts on ThinkMarkets accounts, each with the record it comes from.
What the record says about ThinkMarkets, one row per fact, each with the document or test it comes from and, for a fact from the product disclosure statement, the page it is on.
FactWhat the record saysSource
Minimum deposit50, currency not stated, or the equivalent in your account currencyBroker site, read 13 October 2026
Minimum deposit by accountNot held for this brandOur global broker test
Accounts this page costs1Computed by our cost engine
Account our cost engine builds (standard)One spread, no commissionOur cost engine label, not the broker's own

Every row above names its own record: one from the broker's own site, one from our global broker test, one from a computation over those figures and one from our cost engine's own labels.

Minimum deposit

The ThinkTrader account page on the broker’s New Zealand site quotes the deposit floor as “a minimum of $50 or equivalent in your selected base currency”, without naming which currency the dollar sign means.

ThinkMarkets trading platforms

ThinkTrader, the broker’s in-house platform, is the one its New Zealand section carries, and the New Zealand site lists a demo account. A ThinkTrader account is also what connects you to TradingView, while MT4 and MT5 do not reach New Zealand clients as platform options. A guaranteed stop loss order runs on ThinkTrader only, with premiums starting at 0.025% of the underlying exposure, taken from equity when a position opens.

Copy and social trading

No copy trading or social trading platform is named for this broker (our global test record), so ask ThinkMarkets directly before you open an account. The brand’s worldwide offering is covered in our global review.

ThinkMarkets app

ThinkMarkets's app ThinkMarkets: Trading App is rated 4.4 out of 5 from 23 ratings on the New Zealand App Store, checked 1 November 2026.

The New Zealand App Store listing of ThinkMarkets, captured 1 November 2026.
The New Zealand App Store listing of ThinkMarkets: Trading App, captured 1 November 2026. Verified

ThinkTrader is rated 4.0 out of 5 on Google Play (New Zealand store) from 7.11K reviews shown worldwide, checked 1 November 2026.

The Google Play listing of ThinkTrader as shown in New Zealand, captured 1 November 2026.
The Google Play listing of ThinkTrader as shown in New Zealand, captured 1 November 2026. Verified

ThinkMarkets execution speed and slippage

On our global test panel this broker filled market orders in 248 ms and limit orders in 161 ms, ranking 25th of 36 on the limit order fill and 35th of 36 on the market order fill (our global execution table, ranked on the limit order, fastest first). No New Zealand account was tested: both fill times come from the global panel.

A fill time tells you how quickly an order was accepted, not the price you get. Slippage, the difference between the price you see and the price you are filled at, is a separate matter, and a fast fill can still slip. Neither fill time was measured against the New Zealand entity, so treat both as a global indication only, and check the trading session in New Zealand time when you trade.

ThinkMarkets markets

The New Zealand product disclosure statement gives the product classes this entity offers: CFDs on individual shares, indices, currencies, commodities and futures contracts (page 12). It gives product classes, not instrument counts. If you are new to these products, what a CFD is and how it is treated in New Zealand explains the instrument.

Product classes in the statement: CFDs on individual shares, indices, currencies, commodities and futures contracts (Product disclosure statement, page 12)

ThinkMarkets leverage and margin in New Zealand

The product disclosure statement requires you to deposit an initial margin that is a percentage of the notional contract amount, typically between 3.33 per cent and 25 per cent (page 8), which works out to a leverage band of about 30:1 at the loosest and 4:1 at the tightest (the ratio conversion is ours, not the statement’s). This percentage is the cash you must have in your account before the trade opens. The firm reserves the right to vary it at its own discretion, including in periods of market volatility.

Four facts on ThinkMarkets leverage and margin, each with the record it comes from.
What the record says about ThinkMarkets, one row per fact, each with the document or test it comes from and, for a fact from the product disclosure statement, the page it is on.
FactWhat the record saysSource
Initial margininitial margin is typically between 3.33 and 25 per cent of the notional contract amountProduct disclosure statement, page 8
Whether close-out is guaranteedthe firm does not guarantee positions will close when the margin level reaches the stop out levelProduct disclosure statement, page 9
Whether the close-out level can changethe stop out level can be changed at any time, on three days' noticeProduct disclosure statement, page 9
Negative balanceno negative balance protection: the client stays liable for a negative balance that closing out cannot coverProduct disclosure statement, page 14

Every row above comes from one record, the product disclosure statement.

The statement’s own worked examples, which it calls illustration only, show how this looks on four specific trades.

Example, compared on instrument counts and leverage caps.
ExamplePageInstrumentSizeLeverageInitial margin
110margin FX contract on EUR/USDone lot30:13.33 per cent
211margin FX contract on EUR/USDone lot30:13.33 per cent
312CFD on gold, XAU/USDone lot of 100 ounces20:15 per cent
414margin close out example, margin FX contract on AUD/NZDone lot20:15 per cent

The broker’s New Zealand contract specifications page, read on 21 September 2026, shows the Retail classification first.

Classification, compared on leverage caps.
ClassificationPairsMaximum leverage
RetailEUR/USD, GBP/USD, USD/JPY and 11 other currency pairs30:1
RetailAUD/USD and NZD/USD20:1
Retailcryptocurrency pairs including BTC/USD and ETH/USD2:1
Professionalthose same currency pairs including NZD/USD500:1

On the Retail figures, the two pairs a New Zealand reader is most likely to look up, AUD/USD and NZD/USD, sit one band below the other currency pairs.

How leverage interacts with margin on this account

The statement gives a stop out at a level the firm sets, for example 50 per cent of initial margin or 0.5 per cent of the notional contract amount (page 14). The firm does not guarantee open positions will close when the margin level reaches the stop out level (page 9), and it can change that level at any time, on at least three days’ notice (page 9).

ThinkMarkets customer support

Per the New Zealand home page, a client support team answers 24/7, and the support page shows email, a contact form, live chat and the number +64 48 867 946. The statement adds +64 3 668 4583 (page 25), a toll-free New Zealand line at +64800000979 (pages 5 and 6), and the email [email protected] (page 25).

How ThinkMarkets compares to BlackBull Markets and IG Group

BlackBull Markets tops our rated New Zealand set with an NZ desk score of 88.5, well ahead of this broker’s NZ desk score of 81. Ross Collins’s spread tests put BlackBull Markets at a tested raw EUR/USD figure of 0.46 pips, with commission of US$6.00 per lot and a round turn of US$10.60 per standard lot. ThinkMarkets gives New Zealand clients the ThinkTrader account at zero commission, with an EUR/USD cost that is a published minimum, so the two figures rest on different bases and cannot be placed above or below each other.

In the ratings, IG Group carries an NZ desk score of 82, ahead of this broker. IG Group’s spread-only account, charging no commission, carries an average EUR/USD spread published at 1.13 pips, IG’s own figure averaged over the 12 weeks to 29 May 2020, which works out to US$11.30 per standard lot round turn. An average and a floor rest on different bases, so that figure cannot be set against the round turn at ThinkMarkets.

What other review sites say about ThinkMarkets

These are ratings of ThinkMarkets from other platforms, read on the date shown and expressed on each platform's scale, so you can weigh them against our own score.

PlatformRatingVolumeRead on
Trustpilot3.5 / 55441 November 2026
TradingView4.6 / 53,0131 November 2026

ThinkMarkets holds a Trustpilot rating of 3.5 out of 5 from 544 reviews, checked 1 November 2026.

Trustpilot profile for ThinkMarkets captured 1 November 2026; the figure is the one shown that day and is recaptured monthly.
Trustpilot profile for ThinkMarkets captured 1 November 2026; the figure is the one shown that day and is recaptured monthly.

On TradingView, ThinkMarkets is rated 4.6 out of 5 from 3,013 ratings, checked 1 November 2026. The TradingView profile for ThinkMarkets shows 14.1K traders, the count of those who have connected an account through TradingView. TradingView shows the Best 2025 badge on the profile.

TradingView profile for ThinkMarkets captured 1 November 2026, recaptured monthly.
TradingView profile for ThinkMarkets captured 1 November 2026, recaptured monthly.

App Store and Google Play ratings for ThinkMarkets

Our score is based on published criteria and is not influenced by these third-party ratings.

Should you open an account with ThinkMarkets?

Yes, I would open one were I a New Zealand trader wanting a commission-free account on ThinkTrader and at ease with the margin and negative balance terms of the statement.

The single fact I would weigh first is the negative balance term on page 14: a client can lose more funds than they deposit and may have to deposit more, and no negative balance protection applies. Before depositing, read the stop out and negative balance terms of the statement, and remember that EUR/USD sits on a published minimum, so any given trade may carry a wider spread and a round turn above the floor named in the spreads section.

ThinkMarkets FAQs

Can a New Zealand Client Get the 5000:1 Leverage ThinkMarkets Advertises?
No, a New Zealand client cannot get 5000:1 leverage. That figure appears on the broker's global site, which we read 20 September 2026, and the number 5000 appears on none of the 28 pages of the New Zealand disclosure statement. TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd caps Retail clients at 30:1 on major pairs, 20:1 where NZD/USD and AUD/USD sit, and 2:1 on cryptocurrency pairs, per its New Zealand contract specifications read 21 September 2026, with 500:1 for the Professional classification.
Is ThinkMarkets a New Zealand Company?
No, ThinkMarkets is not a New Zealand company. On a 19 September 2026 reading, the Financial Markets Authority (FMA) register gives TF Global Markets (Aust) Ltd as an active licensee. Of the 16 licensed derivatives issuers on that register, seven are Australian company forms, and this company is one of them. Page 25 of the product disclosure statement dated 11 April 2023 gives the firm's New Zealand address as Baker Tilly Staples Rodway Auckland Ltd, 9th Floor, 45 Queen Street, Auckland, 1010, NZ.
Does ThinkMarkets' New Zealand Product Disclosure Statement Cover Its Guaranteed Stop Loss Order?
No, the statement does not cover the guaranteed stop loss order. We searched all 28 pages of the statement dated 11 April 2023 on 20 September 2026 for six terms, with no hit anywhere. Its own New Zealand pages, checked 13 October 2026, offer the order on ThinkTrader for an upfront premium from 0.025% of exposure. The terms you contract under therefore come from the broker's pages, not the statement.
How Long Does a ThinkMarkets Demo Account Last for a New Zealand Trader?
A ThinkMarkets demo account lasts 14 days or 30 days, depending on which broker page you read. The demo page, read 16 October 2026, says 14 days from registration, while the New Zealand support FAQ says 30 days without trades. Live clients keep a demo that does not expire. The demo is free, and the balance is adjusted on request through support. ThinkMarkets is among the brokers in our New Zealand set that state a demo term, out of 11 FMA-licensed issuers you can open an account with.
Is ThinkMarkets' 248 ms Market Order Fill Fast or Slow?
Slow, in my judgement, is where ThinkMarkets' 248 ms market order fill sits. Our global execution panel, measuring 36 brokers and no New Zealand account, put the market order at 248 ms against a panel average of 149 ms, and the limit order at 161 ms against a 143 ms average. Fill speed measures acceptance, not the price you are given, and slippage is a separate matter. For a New Zealand trader, I would treat it as a real cost for scalping and a minor one for swing positions.

Testing log

What this site recorded about ThinkMarkets, and when.
RecordDetail
Execution recordedA market order filled in 248 ms, as measured by our global test panel.
FMA register read19 September 2026, licence status active.
Product disclosure statementThe statement is dated 11 April 2023 and we read it in full on 20 September 2026.