| Legal entity | Trading brand | NFA ID | Current CFTC registrations | Forex Dealer Member since | NFA member since | Retail forex counterparty | Former names on BASIC | Regulatory actions | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | Charles Schwab | 0477394 |
| February 16, 2016 | October 3, 2014 | Yes | TD Ameritrade Futures & Forex LLC | 1 action: ICE case 2019-021-022G: Office recordkeeping, | September 23, 2026 |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | FOREX.com | 0339826 |
| October 7, 2010 | July 29, 2004 | Yes | GAIN Capital Group Inc | 5 actions, latest: NFA case 22BCC00012: General conduct, 1 CFTC publication naming the firm, not an action | September 23, 2026 |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | Interactive Brokers | 0258600 |
| April 19, 2012 | December 2, 1994 | Yes | Interactive Brokers Inc | 32 actions, latest: FEX case 2026-02: Financial position and reporting, 5 CFTC publications naming the firm, not actions | September 23, 2026 |
| OANDA Corporation | OANDA | 0325821 |
| October 7, 2010 | March 14, 2003 | Yes | none stated | 3 actions, latest: NFA case 25BCC00004: Financial; General conduct; Sales practice, 2 CFTC publications naming the firm, not actions | September 23, 2026 |
| tastyfx LLC | tastyfx | 0509630 |
| October 15, 2018 | October 15, 2018 | Yes | IG US LLC | None found 1 CFTC publication naming the firm, not an action | September 23, 2026 |
| trading.com Markets Inc | Trading.com | 0516820 |
| April 20, 2020 | April 20, 2020 | Yes | Trading Dot Com US Inc, Trading Point US Inc | 1 action: NFA case 24BCC00002: Financial; General conduct, 1 CFTC publication naming the firm, not an action | September 23, 2026 |
| Plus500US Financial Services LLC | Plus500 | 0001398 |
| not a Forex Dealer Member | September 21, 1983 | No, registered for futures only | Cunningham Commodities Inc, Cunningham Commodities LLC | 37 actions, latest: CME case DQA-24-1368: Floor recordkeeping, | September 23, 2026 |
The six rows with a Forex Dealer Member designation are the registered counterparties for retail forex, while Plus500US Financial Services LLC is registered for futures only.
The "Regulatory actions" column counts every action NFA BASIC lists under the firm's NFA ID, brought by the NFA, the CFTC or an exchange, plus any CFTC press release naming the firm as the subject of an order that BASIC does not already list, from our search of the CFTC press-release library on September 23, 2026.
US registration: Charles Schwab
- Legal entity
- Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC
- NFA ID
- 0477394
- Current CFTC registrations
-
- Futures Commission Merchant (FCM), effective
- Forex Dealer Member
- Yes, since February 16, 2016
- NFA member since
- October 3, 2014
- Date we checked
- September 23, 2026
Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC trades as Charles Schwab. Formerly TD Ameritrade Futures & Forex LLC, it is an FCM with the Forex Dealer Member designation and no RFED registration.
US registration: FOREX.com
- Legal entity
- GAIN Capital Group LLC
- NFA ID
- 0339826
- Current CFTC registrations
-
- Futures Commission Merchant (FCM), effective
- Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer (RFED), effective
- Forex Dealer Member
- Yes, since October 7, 2010
- NFA member since
- July 29, 2004
- Date we checked
- September 23, 2026
GAIN Capital Group LLC trades as FOREX.com and was formerly GAIN Capital Group Inc. Its Forex Dealer Member designation dates from October 7, 2010, the same day as OANDA Corporation's, making the two the earliest in the set.
US registration: Interactive Brokers
- Legal entity
- Interactive Brokers LLC
- NFA ID
- 0258600
- Current CFTC registrations
-
- Futures Commission Merchant (FCM), effective
- Forex Dealer Member
- Yes, since April 19, 2012
- NFA member since
- December 2, 1994
- Date we checked
- September 23, 2026
Formerly Interactive Brokers Inc, Interactive Brokers LLC trades as Interactive Brokers. Its FCM registration of December 2, 1994 is the earliest current registration among the six forex dealers, and it carries the Forex Dealer Member designation with no RFED registration.
US registration: OANDA
- Legal entity
- OANDA Corporation
- NFA ID
- 0325821
- Current CFTC registrations
-
- Futures Commission Merchant (FCM), effective
- Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer (RFED), effective
- Forex Dealer Member
- Yes, since October 7, 2010
- NFA member since
- March 14, 2003
- Date we checked
- September 23, 2026
OANDA Corporation trades as OANDA, and its BASIC record states no former name. Its RFED registration of October 5, 2010 is the earliest in the set.
US registration: tastyfx
- Legal entity
- tastyfx LLC
- NFA ID
- 0509630
- Current CFTC registrations
-
- Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer (RFED), effective
- Introducing Broker (IB), effective
- Forex Dealer Member
- Yes, since October 15, 2018
- NFA member since
- October 15, 2018
- Date we checked
- September 23, 2026
tastyfx LLC trades as tastyfx. Formerly IG US LLC, it holds an Introducing Broker registration effective December 10, 2024 alongside its RFED registration.
US registration: Trading.com
- Legal entity
- trading.com Markets Inc
- NFA ID
- 0516820
- Current CFTC registrations
-
- Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer (RFED), effective
- Futures Commission Merchant (FCM), effective
- Forex Dealer Member
- Yes, since April 20, 2020
- NFA member since
- April 20, 2020
- Date we checked
- September 23, 2026
Formerly Trading Dot Com US Inc and Trading Point US Inc, trading.com Markets Inc trades as Trading.com. Its FCM registration of June 4, 2026 is the newest on the register, beside its RFED registration of April 20, 2020.
| Month | Firm | Retail forex obligation | Adjusted net capital | Rank in month | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$204,121,663 | US$82,904,419 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data July 2026, row 30 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$132,445,959 | US$33,191,483 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data July 2026, row 55 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$55,996,755 | US$301,491,825 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data July 2026, row 15 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$49,950,447 | US$67,394,162 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data July 2026, row 68 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$26,190,990 | US$10,238,479,537 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data July 2026, row 36 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$2,872,026 | US$24,180,804 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data July 2026, row 70 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$197,094,311 | US$89,256,677 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data June 2026, row 30 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$132,892,017 | US$32,796,793 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data June 2026, row 54 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$54,089,210 | US$292,796,095 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data June 2026, row 15 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$47,983,302 | US$66,195,941 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data June 2026, row 67 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$27,326,540 | US$10,532,532,733 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data June 2026, row 35 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$2,920,377 | US$24,604,545 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data June 2026, row 69 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$201,604,867 | US$88,385,116 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data May 2026, row 29 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$135,737,238 | US$32,931,632 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data May 2026, row 54 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$54,712,101 | US$312,584,505 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data May 2026, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$48,921,214 | US$65,961,107 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data May 2026, row 67 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$27,176,623 | US$10,307,378,337 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data May 2026, row 34 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$2,861,004 | US$23,097,557 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data May 2026, row 69 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$203,692,149 | US$87,655,854 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data April 2026, row 28 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$135,491,329 | US$32,410,826 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data April 2026, row 52 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$56,488,193 | US$303,754,431 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data April 2026, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$48,542,829 | US$66,244,535 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data April 2026, row 65 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$29,771,802 | US$10,642,619,641 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data April 2026, row 33 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$3,056,517 | US$23,480,190 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data April 2026, row 67 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$209,410,533 | US$80,944,349 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data March 2026, row 28 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$139,115,430 | US$34,000,461 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data March 2026, row 52 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$58,434,241 | US$294,124,336 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data March 2026, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$48,677,306 | US$67,947,428 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data March 2026, row 65 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$29,849,387 | US$10,262,396,896 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data March 2026, row 33 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$3,104,210 | US$23,275,670 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data March 2026, row 67 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$203,874,436 | US$62,992,497 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data February 2026, row 28 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$136,256,681 | US$34,406,120 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data February 2026, row 50 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$56,747,118 | US$277,599,431 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data February 2026, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$45,396,715 | US$65,774,314 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data February 2026, row 63 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$32,902,098 | US$10,331,969,503 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data February 2026, row 33 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$3,012,290 | US$24,217,094 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data February 2026, row 65 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$203,102,632 | US$67,812,686 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data January 2026, row 28 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$133,738,061 | US$32,911,697 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data January 2026, row 50 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$58,557,079 | US$268,428,094 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data January 2026, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$44,566,312 | US$64,655,828 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data January 2026, row 63 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$30,129,891 | US$10,063,778,366 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data January 2026, row 33 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$2,861,153 | US$23,676,392 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data January 2026, row 65 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$211,806,718 | US$64,818,389 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data December 2025, row 27 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$144,597,620 | US$34,067,981 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data December 2025, row 49 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$61,786,057 | US$330,458,124 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data December 2025, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$46,286,704 | US$65,773,359 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data December 2025, row 61 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$32,503,702 | US$10,608,760,610 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data December 2025, row 32 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$2,901,652 | US$24,074,025 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data December 2025, row 63 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$215,765,203 | US$61,500,862 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data November 2025, row 27 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$145,211,773 | US$35,788,892 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data November 2025, row 49 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$58,476,578 | US$321,977,882 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data November 2025, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$47,507,736 | US$65,476,497 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data November 2025, row 61 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$25,744,540 | US$11,043,681,215 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data November 2025, row 32 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$3,037,570 | US$23,845,869 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data November 2025, row 63 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$215,449,679 | US$69,377,073 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data October 2025, row 27 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$144,887,181 | US$40,548,742 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data October 2025, row 49 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$59,907,340 | US$312,002,310 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data October 2025, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$46,175,320 | US$65,896,660 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data October 2025, row 61 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$30,952,186 | US$10,686,189,704 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data October 2025, row 32 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$2,539,820 | US$24,194,540 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data October 2025, row 63 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$217,641,545 | US$65,752,989 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data September 2025, row 27 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$147,285,905 | US$42,853,005 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data September 2025, row 49 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$60,302,504 | US$301,033,352 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data September 2025, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$43,739,822 | US$64,758,165 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data September 2025, row 61 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$34,190,895 | US$10,442,869,397 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data September 2025, row 32 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$2,461,100 | US$22,753,930 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data September 2025, row 63 | |
| GAIN Capital Group LLC | US$217,670,307 | US$61,855,169 | 1 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data August 2025, row 26 | |
| OANDA Corporation | US$148,444,226 | US$41,209,845 | 2 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data August 2025, row 48 | |
| Charles Schwab Futures and Forex LLC | US$61,232,803 | US$292,202,388 | 3 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data August 2025, row 14 | |
| tastyfx LLC | US$43,319,363 | US$63,443,908 | 4 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data August 2025, row 59 | |
| Interactive Brokers LLC | US$33,353,460 | US$10,431,004,743 | 5 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data August 2025, row 31 | |
| trading.com Markets Inc | US$2,555,987 | US$22,809,996 | 6 of 6 | CFTC file, FCM Data August 2025, row 61 |
The same six firms, in the same order by size, reported retail forex obligations in all twelve months, with a six-firm total of $506,576,146 in August 2025 and $471,577,840 in July 2026. A retail forex obligation is what the firm owes its retail forex customers, and your balance would be part of it if you opened an account there.
Show all 284 names
| Name on the list | Date entered | Location stated | CFTC entry |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1Billion Forex | Belize | cftc.gov | |
| 2 Options | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| 24OptionForex | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| 24OptionForex Investment Group | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| 33Option | Cyprus | cftc.gov | |
| AAFX Trading | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| AbileXAG | Vanuatu, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| Abnas Global Corp. | Bahamas | cftc.gov | |
| Abnas Global PLC | Bahamas | cftc.gov | |
| Abnas Global Securities Co. Ltd. | Bahamas | cftc.gov | |
| Advanced Options | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Algobit, Ltd. | Seychelles | cftc.gov | |
| Alis Capital Inc. | UK | cftc.gov | |
| Allegra Markets | Port Vila, Vanuatu | cftc.gov | |
| Allgo Trading | Marshall Islands | cftc.gov | |
| AlvaroFxPro | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Anthony, John | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| AOS Holding | Liechtenstein | cftc.gov | |
| Apex Number | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Ares Global Ltd. | St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| ASK Options | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Astercap Ltd. | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Axetrades | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Azbinary | Nigeria, United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| B&K Investment | Ukraine | cftc.gov | |
| B.O. Tradefinancials | Cyprus | cftc.gov | |
| B.O. TradeFinancials | Cyprus; UK | cftc.gov | |
| Banc de Options | Hong Kong | cftc.gov | |
| Barclays Broker | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Barkley Capital | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Bartle Investment Group | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| BBT Capital Limited | Hong Kong | cftc.gov | |
| BBT Forex | Hong Kong | cftc.gov | |
| BeeOptions | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| BF Traders | Malta | cftc.gov | |
| Big Option | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Binance FX Trading | Unknown, possibly the United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Binary Book | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Binary Das | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Binary Golden Options | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Binary Int'l | Anguilla | cftc.gov | |
| Binary Mate | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Binary Option Trades | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Binary Options Ltd. | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Binary Options Robot | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Binary Trade Option | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Binarycent | Seychelles | cftc.gov | |
| BinaryRoom365 | Netherlands | cftc.gov | |
| Binarytradeplus | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Binex Markets | United States | cftc.gov | |
| Bitpay Options | UK | cftc.gov | |
| BitVC | China | cftc.gov | |
| Bloombex Options | Germany | cftc.gov | |
| Bluegate Financial Services | UK | cftc.gov | |
| BoursoPro | Cyprus | cftc.gov | |
| BoursoTrade | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| BQOptions | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Broker Official | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| BTG Option | Vanuatu | cftc.gov | |
| Bull Options | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Byrix Financial Investments | Virgin Islands | cftc.gov | |
| Capital 245 | Moscow | cftc.gov | |
| Capital Bank Markets | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Capital City Markets | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Capital Forex Trade | Seychelles | cftc.gov | |
| Capital Trade House | Seychelles | cftc.gov | |
| Capital Trading Hub | Nigeria; UK | cftc.gov | |
| CapitalInvestOption | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Capitalone Trade | Nigeria; UK | cftc.gov | |
| CDFtrade | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| CDFtradeoption | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Cedar LLC | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| CedarFX | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Cent Projects, Ltd. | Seychelles | cftc.gov | |
| Cherry Trade | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| CloseOption | Tbilisi, Georgia | cftc.gov | |
| Coinexx | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Coingate ForexPro | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Copyprofitshare.com | Canada | cftc.gov | |
| Crown Finance | Scotland | cftc.gov | |
| Crypto Banxa Pro Trade | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Crypto Prolite | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| CryptoBanxaTrade | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| CryptoBinaryTrade | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| CryptoBO | Switzerland | cftc.gov | |
| CryptocurrencyBitcoinxtrade | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| CryptoFxMarket | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| CryptoInvestments | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| CryptoLifeTrade | Canada | cftc.gov | |
| CryptorateFX Ltd. | Canada; United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| CryptoSphereFX | Cyprus; UK | cftc.gov | |
| CT Option | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| DestroFX | UK | cftc.gov | |
| Diamond Managed Forex | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| DineroLibre | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Direct Cryptos | UK | cftc.gov | |
| Dynamics FX Trade | UK | cftc.gov | |
| Eagle FX | Dominica | cftc.gov | |
| Eagle Gate | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Easy Line Pro | Moscow | cftc.gov | |
| Elite Financial Group Ltd. | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Elite Financial Markets | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| ElixirVest Ltd. | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Empire Options | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Equity Price Ltd. | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Escuela Trades | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Expirex Trade | UK | cftc.gov | |
| ExtremeEarners | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| F1 Trade | St.Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| FastfxtCoin | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Favourite Options | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| FG/Cents Projects Ltd. | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Finance Group Corp. | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Finance Trade Capital | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Finpari | Scotland | cftc.gov | |
| FinPro Trading | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Fire Phoenix FX | Bahamas | cftc.gov | |
| Foretrade Mining | Malta | cftc.gov | |
| Forex Broker Inc. | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Forex Capital Gain | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Forex Cash Market | not stated | none | |
| Forex CBR | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Forex Goptions.com | Dominica | cftc.gov | |
| Forex International Gain | Vanuatu, St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Forex Investment Services | Seychelles | cftc.gov | |
| Forex Lens | Ontario | cftc.gov | |
| Forex Ltd. | New Zealand | cftc.gov | |
| Forex Ukraine | Ukraine | cftc.gov | |
| Forex-metal.com | Australia | cftc.gov | |
| Forex4Money Trading Ltd. | Vanuatu, St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Forexcell | Vanuatu, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| Forexcells | Vanuatu, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| Forexcells M Group LLC | Vanuatu, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| Forexcells Markets Ltd. | Vanuatu, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| ForeXcells MKT Limited | Vanuatu, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| Forward Option | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Fundix Inc. | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| FX Choice.com | Belize | cftc.gov | |
| FX Dealer | France | cftc.gov | |
| FX Moneyworld | Belize | cftc.gov | |
| FX Optimax | St. Vincent & The Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| FX-Cryptex | Hong Kong | cftc.gov | |
| FXBrew | Ireland | cftc.gov | |
| FXT Swiss | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| FxtMetaTrust | Poland | cftc.gov | |
| FXUmarkets | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| FXVIP | St.Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| G-P Ltd. | Malta | cftc.gov | |
| Galaxy Stock Trade | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| GFM Trader | Panama | cftc.gov | |
| GFX Options | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Glenridge Capital GMR | Ireland | cftc.gov | |
| Global Buck Invest | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Global Capital Options | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Global Consulting Group | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Global Official Trade | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Gold Explorers | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Golden Tangent Holdings | United States, China | cftc.gov | |
| Goldex Technology Limited | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| GT Options | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| HankoTrade | Seychelles | cftc.gov | |
| Hotbglobal Finance Limited | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Grand Tradefx | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| IDB Trades/Baltic Concert LLP | Scotland | cftc.gov | |
| Ihoptions | Cyprus | cftc.gov | |
| Inside Option | Cyprus | cftc.gov | |
| Instant Options | Macau | cftc.gov | |
| Int’l Brokers Assn Mkts | Anguilla | cftc.gov | |
| IQFXTrade | Belize | cftc.gov | |
| Ivory Option | Gibraltar | cftc.gov | |
| Janus Options | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| K2 Investing | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Lbinary | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| London Binary Option | Marshall Islands | cftc.gov | |
| LQD Limited | Marshall Islands | cftc.gov | |
| lqdfx | Marshall Islands | cftc.gov | |
| Market Options | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Markets The World | Great Britain | cftc.gov | |
| MarketsWorld | Great Britain | cftc.gov | |
| Menne Market Ltd. | UK | cftc.gov | |
| MercerFX | Cyprus | cftc.gov | |
| Merrylmorgan | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| MFX Brokers | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| MM Financial Experts | Moscow | cftc.gov | |
| Morton Finance | Marshall Islands | cftc.gov | |
| NASDAQK Limited | Australia | cftc.gov | |
| NRG Binary | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Octave Trade | Seychelles | cftc.gov | |
| Omega Capitals | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Omega Crytpo | Finland | cftc.gov | |
| Omega Options | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Optimaltradeinfo | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Option Giants | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Option King | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Option-World | Cyprus | cftc.gov | |
| Optionprime.com | Cyprus | cftc.gov | |
| Options Robot | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Options24hours | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Optionsxo | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Oracle Stone | Ireland | cftc.gov | |
| OX Securities Limited (SV) | Australia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| OX Securities Pty Ltd | Australia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Pamm-Mam Forex Fund Management | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Peak Options 24 | United States | cftc.gov | |
| Planet Option | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Platin CFD | Dominica | cftc.gov | |
| PO Trade Ltd. | St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| Pocketoption | Marshall Islands | cftc.gov | |
| Prime Crypto FX | No location found | cftc.gov | |
| PrimeFX Options | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Profit Forex | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Profitable Forex Advisors | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Prosperity LLC | not stated | none | |
| ProsperityFX | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Prowins Binary | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Quick FX Trade | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| QuickFXTrade | No location found | cftc.gov | |
| RealForex.com | Japan | cftc.gov | |
| Redoxtrade | United States | cftc.gov | |
| Regal Options | Cyprus | cftc.gov | |
| Richmond FG | Anguilla | cftc.gov | |
| RidgeWood Securities | United States | cftc.gov | |
| Ronghui Group Co. Ltd. | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Royal Binary | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Safe Options | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Safe Side Trading Ltd | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| SageFX | St. Vincent & The Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Scion Forex | Ontario | cftc.gov | |
| Signals Binary | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Smart Bit Options | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Smart Magnetic Ltd. | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| SmartBitOption | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Smpfxtrade | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Spot Fn | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Standard Crypto Trading | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Starling Capital | Marshall Islands | cftc.gov | |
| Stealth Finex: | France | cftc.gov | |
| Stichting WST Capital | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Stockinvestmentfx | No location found | cftc.gov | |
| StocktrademarketX | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| SublimeFX | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| SunFX Investment Company | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Suomen Kerran LP d/b/a/ Finministry | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Sway Markets | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Swing Options | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| SwipeCoin | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Swissglobaltrade.org | Switzerland, Estonia | cftc.gov | |
| Tall Options | Dubai | cftc.gov | |
| Tallinex | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| The Traders Domain | St. Vincent & The Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Tifu Global Limited | UK | cftc.gov | |
| Titan Trade | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Top Option 360 | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Trade GF | St.Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Trade Quicker | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Trade Xtix Coins Ltd. | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Trade24 Global Ltd. | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Tradeplugx | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Tradeplugx Capital Group | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Trader's Way | Dominica | cftc.gov | |
| TradersOption | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Trades Capital | Scotland | cftc.gov | |
| TradeThunder | Dominica | cftc.gov | |
| TradeWiseFX | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| TradingDeskFX | No location found | cftc.gov | |
| TruBlue FX | St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| TruBlueFX | St. Lucia | cftc.gov | |
| True Forex Funds | Hungary | cftc.gov | |
| trustplusfx.net | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Turnkey Forex | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| UK Options | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| UltimateStock | Unknown | cftc.gov | |
| Unlimited Forex Goals | Australia | cftc.gov | |
| UTC Broker | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| uTrader | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| VIP Businesses | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Vision Binary | St. Vincent and the Grenadines | cftc.gov | |
| Weathika | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| Wellington INV/Bali Limited LTD | Moscow | cftc.gov | |
| Win Forex Trade | not stated | cftc.gov | |
| WinOptions | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| Wolves Trade FX | No location found | cftc.gov | |
| Wynn Finance | United Kingdom | cftc.gov | |
| YesOption | Marshall Islands | cftc.gov |
Source: CFTC RED list, read September 23, 2026.
The CFTC RED list, and what registration means
The RED list names foreign entities that appear to be acting in a capacity requiring CFTC registration while not being registered with the CFTC. Inclusion is not a finding of a violation, as the CFTC itself makes clear. Entries run from August 21, 2015 to May 29, 2025, when the CFTC added 42 names. Registration and examination of intermediaries are carried out on the CFTC’s behalf by the National Futures Association, under the CFTC’s supervision.
The CFTC warns that you may have little or no protection if you trade with unregistered firms operating outside the United States, and that registration “is no guarantee against fraud or mismanagement.” In my view, before you send money anywhere, you should check the name against this list and then confirm the registration on NFA BASIC, because the two US dispute forums reach registered firms only.
How to check a forex dealer on NFA BASIC
You can run the whole check yourself on NFA BASIC, a free tool, and the CFTC’s own advice is to verify registration before you trade. I would give the most time to the regulatory actions under the NFA ID, because they show you a firm’s dated history at a glance.
- Search BASIC by firm name or NFA ID, which covers registration, disciplinary or regulatory history, and financial information.
- Confirm the registration, either Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer or Futures Commission Merchant, and that the record shows “NFA Member Approved”.
- Confirm the “Forex Dealer Member” designation with its approval date, which the NFA applies to a Member that acts, or offers to act, as counterparty to at least one customer.
- Read the regulatory actions listed under the NFA ID, with their dates.
- Check the name against the CFTC’s RED list, and for any securities license, follow BASIC’s own pointer to FINRA’s BrokerCheck.
What the CFTC and NFA require of a forex dealer
Leverage in US retail forex is set as a security deposit, not as a ratio. Under 17 CFR 5.9(a)(1), a forex dealer must collect a minimum security deposit set by the NFA, which cannot be less than 2% of the notional value of the transaction for major currency pairs (50:1, by our arithmetic) and 5% for all other pairs (20:1, by our arithmetic). NFA Financial Requirements Section 12 names the ten major currencies: the British pound, the Swiss franc, the Canadian dollar, the Japanese yen, the euro, the Australian dollar, the New Zealand dollar, the Swedish krona, the Norwegian krone, and the Danish krone. Where a transaction pairs the US dollar with a non-major currency, the deposit is based on the foreign currency, so the dealer collects the non-major deposit on the whole transaction (the NFA’s Forex Transactions Regulatory Guide). A position in USD/MXN therefore takes the non-major deposit, because the Mexican peso is not one of the ten majors. A dealer may charge more than the minimum, so check the margin rate before sizing a position.
FCMs and RFEDs must maintain net capital of $20 million plus 5 percent of the amount, if any, by which liabilities to retail forex customers exceed $10 million (CFTC, Foreign Currency Trading page, read September 23, 2026). In my view this floor is something you can check for yourself, because the obligations table above shows each firm’s adjusted net capital beside its retail forex obligations.
Under NFA Compliance Rule 2-43(b), a Forex Dealer Member may not carry offsetting positions in a customer account and must offset them on a first-in, first-out basis, though at the customer’s request the dealer may offset same-size transactions even where older transactions of a different size are open. The effect is that a long and a short on the same pair cannot sit in one account.
Is forex trading legal in the US?
Yes, forex trading is legal for US residents through a counterparty registered with the CFTC. The CFTC’s final rules on off-exchange retail foreign currency transactions took effect on October 18, 2010, and they require counterparties offering retail foreign currency contracts to register as either a futures commission merchant or a retail foreign exchange dealer, a category those rules created. Entities that are otherwise regulated, such as financial institutions and SEC-registered brokers or dealers, remain able to serve as counterparties under the oversight of their primary regulators. The six CFTC-registered forex dealers that are NFA Forex Dealer Members are on this page, and if you want to compare them on price and platform, our CFTC-regulated forex brokers ranked for US traders page is where I would send you.
Recourse against a registered forex dealer
Both US dispute forums, CFTC reparations and NFA arbitration, reach registered firms only, and that is the practical reason I would verify a firm’s registration before you send it money. A firm on the RED list is by definition not registered, so neither forum reaches it.
CFTC reparations
CFTC reparations, run through the Commission’s Office of Proceedings, provides what the CFTC describes as an inexpensive, expeditious, and fair forum to resolve disputes between derivatives customers and registered trading professionals. If you have tried and cannot resolve the matter directly with the dealer, and your complaint meets the filing requirements, a CFTC Administrative Judge can decide it. You file on the CFTC’s reparations complaint form with a filing fee.
NFA arbitration
NFA arbitration exists so that customers and Members can avoid costly litigation and present their case to an impartial third party or panel. It covers disputes between customers and NFA Members, their employees, and Associates, which includes every firm on this register. You do not need a lawyer to bring a claim.
What SIPC does not cover
SIPC does not protect foreign exchange trades. Cash held at a SIPC member broker-dealer is protected only when it is there to invest in securities, not for another purpose such as foreign exchange trading, and cash held in connection with a commodities trade is not protected either. So if a firm’s marketing leans on SIPC membership, I would treat that as a fact about its securities business, not as protection for your forex balance.
RFED, FCM, FDM and IB: what the registration labels mean
The register uses three CFTC registrations (RFED, FCM, and IB) and one NFA designation (FDM), and each tells you what a firm’s role is. I would look for the “Forex Dealer Member” designation first, because it is the label that tells you a firm can be your counterparty.
- RFED, retail foreign exchange dealer: under 17 CFR 5.1(h)(1), any person that is, or that offers to be, the counterparty to a retail forex transaction, with statutory exceptions.
- FCM, futures commission merchant: one of the two registrations the CFTC’s rules accept for a retail forex counterparty, and also the registration for a futures broker.
- FDM, Forex Dealer Member: an NFA designation, held by a Member that acts as counterparty, or offers to act as counterparty, to at least one customer, and FDMs must be registered as either an FCM or an RFED.
- IB, introducing broker: under 17 CFR 5.1(f)(1), a person who solicits or accepts orders from a customer, other than an eligible contract participant, in connection with retail forex transactions, and tastyfx LLC holds this registration alongside its RFED registration.
- A futures-only FCM: Plus500US Financial Services LLC is a CFTC-registered FCM and an NFA member without the Forex Dealer Member designation, so it appears on the register as a futures firm and is not a counterparty for retail forex.
Related pages
About the author
Justin Grossbard is the CEO & Co-Founder of CompareForexBrokers established in 2014, along with Noam Korbl and works as Strategic Head Of Research.
Our reviews are reader-supported. We may receive payment when you click a link to a partner site. Learn how we make money.