The 4 brokers on this page, ranked
We order these brokers by our global published score, highest first, and each name links to that broker's US review. There is no separate US performance score. We have not run a US test of spreads, execution, or overall performance. Our team recorded account-opening checks with OANDA, FOREX.com, and tastyfx, but those are workflow observations only and they do not determine our ratings or this ordering.
- OANDA: highest global score of the four, 88.3 out of 100
- tastyfx: second-highest global score of the four, 68.2 out of 100
- FOREX.com: third-highest global score of the four, 67.6 out of 100
- Interactive Brokers: fourth-highest global score of the four, 62.3 out of 100
Which 4 US forex brokers offer institutional or API access?
1. OANDA: highest global score of the four
Advertised EUR/USD spread
1.4 pips, advertised, Spread-only pricing account
Platforms
OANDA Trade (web, mobile, tablet), TradingView, MetaTrader 4
NFA registration
OANDA Corporation, NFA ID 0325821, FCM and RFED, Forex Dealer Member since October 7, 2010
Retail forex obligations, July 2026
US$132,445,959, second of six reporting firms (CFTC financial data)
Why We Recommend OANDA
I recommend OANDA if you want a US broker that states institutional customers in its own disclosure. OANDA Corporation lists its customer types as institutional, ECP and retail (its regulatory disclosure page). If you want to automate your trading, my advice is to start here: its US site marks API trading as included on both of its account types.
Pros & Cons
- API trading is marked as included on both the Standard account and the Elite Trader loyalty program (its account comparison page)
- Its US account comparison page says it offers prices on 68 FX pairs, four trading platforms, and a range of analysis tools and APIs
- EUR/USD margin rate from 2%, as its US site states on its home page
- The Elite Trader program carries a minimum trading requirement of US$10 million in volume (its account comparison page)
- Core spread and commission pricing requires a balance of US$10,000 or greater (its account comparison page)
- Its US site does not state base currencies; the customer agreement defines Base Currency only as currencies accepted from time to time
Broker's Detail
OANDA Corporation, NFA ID 0325821, the legal entity behind the OANDA brand in the United States, is registered with the CFTC as a Futures Commission Merchant, effective March 14, 2003, and as a Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer, effective October 5, 2010 (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026).
On cost, the spread-only pricing account carries EUR/USD at 1.4 pips, advertised on a table headed Spread, with the commission wrapped into the spread (its US pricing page). There is no minimum deposit by bank wire transfer. One pip on a standard lot of EUR/USD is US$10, and before you fund the account I would use that figure to price a round turn on your own trade size.
For access beyond the standard route, its account comparison page lists an Elite Trader rebate from US$5 per million traded and a dedicated relationship manager for Elite Trader clients only (its account comparison page). That is the loyalty tier to ask about if your volume is large enough to clear its minimum.
| What the US site states | Source |
|---|---|
| Types of customers: institutional, ECP and retail. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
2. tastyfx: second-highest global score of the four
Advertised EUR/USD spread
0.8 pips, advertised minimum, Standard account
Platforms
tastyfx platforms, TradingView, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, ProRealTime
NFA registration
tastyfx LLC, NFA ID 0509630, RFED, Forex Dealer Member since October 15, 2018
Retail forex obligations, July 2026
US$49,950,447, fourth of six reporting firms (CFTC financial data)
Why We Recommend tastyfx
I recommend tastyfx if your firm has in-house development resources and wants a direct FIX connection. tastyfx's FIX API is a session-based connection to its order management system, and access is approved case by case (its FIX API page). Its FAQ is candid that building and maintaining a FIX session is a real engineering commitment, and in my view that honesty helps you judge whether you are ready for it. Its published score is its parent group's global score applied to tastyfx.
Pros & Cons
- The FIX API lets you submit orders, manage positions, and pull account data directly from your own OMS or execution stack (its FIX API page)
- EUR/USD at 0.8 pips, an advertised minimum on the Standard account, with no commission (its accounts pages)
- Demo account available with US$10,000 in virtual funds to practice with (its demo account page)
- FIX API access is approved case by case, and all clients must pass conformance against a demo environment before production access
- Order messages are capped at 240 per minute per account, with a 20-per-second burst allowance
- The Prime account carries a US$50,000 account minimum (its pricing page)
Broker's Detail
tastyfx LLC, NFA ID 0509630, the legal entity behind the tastyfx brand in the United States, is registered with the CFTC as a Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer, effective October 15, 2018, and as an Introducing Broker, effective December 10, 2024 (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026).
Beyond the Standard account, the Prime account advertises EUR/USD at 0.6 pips minimum with no commission, and the Zero+ account charges a commission of US$5 per standard lot per side on top of a spread advertised from 0 pips minimum (its accounts pages). Zero+ costs less than Standard on a round turn only when the spread it saves is more than 1 pip per standard lot (our arithmetic), and the two advertised minimums are 0.8 pips apart. For my money, Zero+ only pays if the spread you actually trade beats that break-even.
Its FIX API page states that individuals are eligible for the API. Sessions are IP-authenticated and secured over SSL, and the page offers direct FIX connectivity for its highest-volume traders (its FIX API page). The same page states that positions net by pair and close first in, first out.
| What the US site states | Source |
|---|---|
| The tastyfx FIX API is a session-based connection to our order management system over FIX 5.0 SP2. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
3. FOREX.com: third-highest global score of the four
Advertised EUR/USD spread
1.2 pips, advertised minimum, Spread-only account
Platforms
FOREX.com platform (web, mobile), TradingView, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5
NFA registration
GAIN Capital Group LLC, NFA ID 0339826, FCM and RFED, Forex Dealer Member since October 7, 2010
Retail forex obligations, July 2026
US$204,121,663, first of six reporting firms (CFTC financial data)
Why We Recommend FOREX.com
I recommend FOREX.com if you are a reader who wants to code against a REST API in a language you already use. FOREX.com's REST API automates trading and connects an algo strategy to its liquidity, coded in any network accessible programming language from Perlscript, C++, Python, or VB.NET (its API trading page). If you build your own systems, this is the route I would send you down.
Pros & Cons
- The REST API executes trades and a full range of orders for 80 markets against live streaming prices (its API trading page)
- EUR/USD at 1.2 pips, an advertised minimum on the spread-only account, with no commission (its trade prices page)
- Demo account available for 90 days on its full-featured demo platform (its demo account page)
- The REST API must be connected by contacting the service team after creating a spread-only account
- The minimum initial deposit is US$100 (its FAQ pages)
- Its US site does not state base currencies; deposits are converted to the base currency of the trading account
Broker's Detail
GAIN Capital Group LLC, NFA ID 0339826, the legal entity behind the FOREX.com brand in the United States, is registered with the CFTC as a Futures Commission Merchant, effective July 29, 2004, and as a Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer, effective October 7, 2010 (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026).
If you would rather pay a commission, the RAW pricing account advertises EUR/USD at 0.1 pips typical, the median spread available, with a commission of US$7 per US$100,000 traded (its trade prices page). Compare that against the spread-only account at your volume, since one pip on a standard lot of EUR/USD is US$10. I would run that comparison on paper before funding either account.
The API lets you view your current active orders, account balance, available margin, open positions, and historical trades in real-time (its API trading page). Its documentation portal carries sample code, support tools, and more.
| What the US site states | Source |
|---|---|
| Automate your trading and connect your algo strategy with our deep liquidity through REST API. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
4. Interactive Brokers: fourth-highest global score of the four
Advertised EUR/USD spread
Not published on the US site
Platforms
IBKR Desktop, Trader Workstation (TWS), IBKR Mobile
NFA registration
Interactive Brokers LLC, NFA ID 0258600, FCM, Forex Dealer Member since April 19, 2012
Retail forex obligations, July 2026
US$26,190,990, fifth of six reporting firms (CFTC financial data)
Why We Recommend Interactive Brokers
I recommend Interactive Brokers if you need prime brokerage from a registered US entity. Interactive Brokers LLC describes itself as an agency only, direct market access broker that provides execution, clearance, settlement and prime brokerage for customers (its commodity segregation disclosure). If you run a hedge fund or a proprietary trading firm and you want my pick, in my view this is it.
Pros & Cons
- Its institutions page offers hedge funds prime brokerage services with global execution, clearing, and competitive financing (its institutions page)
- Its proprietary API and FIX CTCI solutions let institutions create their own automated, rules-based trading system (its individual account page)
- Minimum deposit of US$0 on both IBKR Pro and IBKR Lite (its account minimums page)
- No EUR/USD spread is published on its US site, and the site states spreads as narrow as 1/10 pip without naming a pair
- Its US site does not state a forex margin rate for any currency pair
- Its US site does not state base currencies; commissions are charged to the base currency of the account
Broker's Detail
Interactive Brokers LLC, NFA ID 0258600, the legal entity behind the Interactive Brokers brand in the United States, is registered with the CFTC as a Futures Commission Merchant, effective December 2, 1994 (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026).
Interactive Brokers LLC charges a commission of 0.08 to 0.20 bps times the trade size on spot currencies, "with no hidden spreads or markups" (its spot currencies page). That is the cost line its US site publishes for spot currencies, so budget your turnover against it before you fund an account. In my opinion this commission model suits you if you trade large size.
Its NFA forex firm-specific disclosure adds that some prime brokerage customers may execute trades through another broker and clear through IB (its NFA forex firm-specific disclosure). Its institutions page also lists account types for proprietary trading firms, with multi-trader accounts and API connectivity (its institutions page).
| What the US site states | Source |
|---|---|
| Interactive Brokers LLC ('IB') is an agency only, direct market access broker that provides execution, clearance, settlement and prime brokerage for customers. | US site, September 23, 2026 |
Institutional and API access at the 4 brokers, side by side
The side-by-side table below shows the one access sentence each registered entity’s own US site states, the entity as it sits on the register, and the advertised EUR/USD spread beside them. The register holds six firms registered as retail forex counterparties with a Forex Dealer Member designation (NFA BASIC, read September 23, 2026). The brokers on this page are registered dealers whose own US entity states institutional, API or prime brokerage access.
| Broker | NFA entity (NFA ID) | Institutional or API access, as the US site states it | Advertised EUR/USD spread and basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OANDA | OANDA Corporation (0325821) | Types of customers: institutional, ECP and retail. | 1.4 pips, advertised, Spread-only pricing account | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| tastyfx | tastyfx LLC (0509630) | The tastyfx FIX API is a session-based connection to our order management system over FIX 5.0 SP2. | 0.8 pips, advertised minimum, Standard account | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| FOREX.com | GAIN Capital Group LLC (0339826) | Automate your trading and connect your algo strategy with our deep liquidity through REST API. | 1.2 pips, advertised minimum, Spread-only account | US site, September 23, 2026 |
| Interactive Brokers | Interactive Brokers LLC (0258600) | Interactive Brokers LLC ('IB') is an agency only, direct market access broker that provides execution, clearance, settlement and prime brokerage for customers. | Not published on the US site | US site, September 23, 2026 |
Which US forex broker has institutional-grade execution?
The broker I would send an execution-focused reader to is OANDA. On our global panel of 36 brokers (not a US account), it was second for market orders (84 ms) and fifth for limit orders (86 ms). Interactive Brokers LLC describes itself in its own disclosure as a direct market access broker that also clears, settles and provides prime brokerage. For speed on our panel I would pick OANDA; for execution, clearing and prime brokerage from one registered entity, Interactive Brokers LLC.
Which institutional forex trading platforms do US brokers offer?
The route I would point you to depends on the access you need. If you want a REST API, FOREX.com connects it to a spread-only account on request. If you want API trading across its accounts, OANDA marks it on its account comparison table. If you want a FIX API, tastyfx approves access case by case. If you want prime brokerage together with API and FIX CTCI, Interactive Brokers LLC states all three. And if you want to automate without building a FIX session, tastyfx’s own FAQ says MetaTrader 5 supports Expert Advisors.
Can retail traders use an institutional forex broker in the US?
Yes, and three of the four state a retail route in their own words. tastyfx says individuals are eligible for its FIX API; FOREX.com connects its REST API to a spread-only account; OANDA’s table marks API trading on its Standard account. If you open one of these accounts as an individual retail customer, the account is a retail forex account with the registered legal entity, and the security deposit rule applies: 2% of notional on major pairs (50:1, our arithmetic) and 5% on all others, under 17 CFR 5.9. Before you ask any of them for API or FIX access, I would confirm the registered legal entity on NFA BASIC by its NFA ID, so you know the account you are opening sits with the entity you checked.
More US forex broker pages
The other pages built on the same six registered dealers. The anchor text is each page's own heading.
FAQs
Is the tastyfx Prime account prime brokerage?
What volume does OANDA's Elite Trader program require?
What is the FIX API at tastyfx, and what does it take to go live?
How do you reach FOREX.com's REST API?
How does FIFO apply over tastyfx's FIX API?
How do you confirm the legal entity behind an institutional or API account?
Related pages
About the author
Justin Grossbard is the Co-Founder and CEO of CompareForexBrokers, which he established with Noam Korbl in 2014. He has over 20 years of professional experience in online marketing and holds a Master's in Marketing from Monash University.
Our reviews are reader-supported. We may receive payment when you click a link to a partner site. Learn how we make money.