Our verdict on OCBC Securities
OCBC Securities Private Limited suits a Singapore resident who wants leveraged forex alongside a full securities dealing relationship: the firm advertises leveraged forex and states a free 1-month demo account, and the MAS Financial Institutions Directory lists it as a Capital Markets Services Licensee. Its account page states that fees depend on the pricing structure, may include transaction-related charges, and should be confirmed before applying.
The rating on this page is a desk-based assessment of the firm's published Singapore information and the MAS Financial Institutions Directory, scored through the site's eight published categories with the published category weights renormalised over the categories that carry a rating. Six of the eight categories carry a rating, and Trading Costs and Trading Experience are blank. Less than half of each blank category could be read from that published information. Before depositing, I would confirm the fee schedule and the margin terms that apply to you.
Pros
- FID lists OCBC Securities Private Limited as a Capital Markets Services Licensee and Exempt Financial Adviser.
- The firm states an initial deposit of S$1,000 for local residents on its leveraged forex account page.
- The firm advertises a free 1-month demo account with US$100,000 virtual funds.
- The firm states funding by cash or cheque carries no administrative charge for deposits.
- The firm advertises over 40 currency pairs with fractional pricing on its leveraged forex account page.
Cons
- Fees for leveraged forex are not listed on the account page and should be confirmed before applying, in the firm's own words.
- A EUR/USD spread figure is not stated on the firm's Singapore pages read on 24 September 2026.
- The firm states you are liable for any resulting deficit if you fail to meet a request for additional funds within the specified time.
Desk-based assessment: scored from published information, not tested
OCBC Securities score breakdown
2/5 · Low
Scored on 6 of 8 categories: Trading Costs and Trading Experience are not scored.
The desk score is the published category weights renormalised over the 6 of 8 categories scored; Trading Costs and Trading Experience are blank.
How is our rating calculated?- Blank: Trading Costs: Standard Published Spreads, Standard Tested Spreads, RAW/ECN Published Spread, RAW/ECN Tested Spread, Published Commission Rates, Inactivity Fees, the whole category
- Blank: Trading Experience: Limit Order Speed, Market Order Speed, Ease of Opening, Ease of Withdrawal, Professional Leverage, Standard Account, Raw Account, the whole category
- Blank: Trust: TrustPilot Score
- Blank: Customer Service: Live Chat, CS Knowledge, Website Experience
- Blank: Range of Markets: Commodities
- Blank: Funding: Base Currencies
Is OCBC Securities safe? MAS licence, OCBC Securities Private Limited
Yes, the licence record is there for you to check, and we read FID on 24 September 2026: it lists OCBC Securities Private Limited as a Capital Markets Services Licensee and an Exempt Financial Adviser. What I would check myself is the legal name, not the trading brand iOCBC, whenever you verify the firm.
| Fact | What the record says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Legal name on FID | OCBC Securities Private Limited | MAS Financial Institutions Directory, read 24 September 2026 |
| Licence types on FID | Capital Markets Services Licensee, Exempt Financial Adviser | MAS Financial Institutions Directory, read 24 September 2026 |
| Products FID lists under Dealing In Capital Markets Products | Securities; Collective Investment Schemes; Exchange-Traded Derivatives Contracts; Over-The-Counter Derivatives Contracts; Spot Foreign Exchange Contracts for the Purposes of Leveraged Foreign Exchange Trading | MAS Financial Institutions Directory, read 24 September 2026 |
| FID record last updated | 17 September 2026 | MAS Financial Institutions Directory, read 24 September 2026 |
| MAS enforcement actions and media releases naming the entity as subject | 1 found, 7 July 2009; lifted with effect from 24 August 2010 | MAS media release, searched 24 September 2026 |
| Entity printed on the Singapore site | OCBC Securities Private Limited | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
What FID lists for the entity
I would search the directory for the legal name before opening an account here.
MAS actions and the Investor Alert List
We searched MAS’s enforcement actions and media releases for the firm’s legal name and its trading names. The item naming the firm as subject is MAS’s investigation findings of 7 July 2009 on structured notes linked to Lehman Brothers: MAS directed the firm to stop dealing in and advising on structured notes for new transactions with individuals from 1 July 2009 for a period of one year, or until the Authority was satisfied that it had put in place adequate measures to address the findings, whichever date is the later, and MAS lifted that ban with effect from 24 August 2010. Other items name the firm; none is a new action against the firm. No entry on the MAS Investor Alert List bears any name we searched.
MAS enforcement and alerts
- MAS Releases Investigation Findings on the Sale and Marketing of Structured Notes Linked to Lehman Brothers
MAS will lift the ban on the sale of structured notes for CIMB Securities (Singapore) Pte Ltd, DMG & Partners Securities Pte Ltd, Kim Eng Securities Pte Ltd, OCBC Securities Pte Ltd, Phillip Securities Pte Ltd and UOB Kay Hian Pte Ltd with effect from 24 August 2010.
Also named by the MAS, without a new action against OCBC Securities Private Limited:
- Two Individuals Convicted for Offences under the Securities and Futures Act
- Court convicts Kenneth Goh Jia Poh for multiple offences under the Securities and Futures Act
- MAS bans four individuals for market misconduct
- MAS issues Prohibition Orders against Mr Prem Hirubalan for unauthorised share trading and misappropriation of customers’ monies
- MAS obtains Default Judgement of $2.97M against Norman Phua Chun Han for Insider Trading and Employment of Manipulative and Deceptive Devices
- MAS takes Civil Penalty Enforcement Action against Ng Yu Jin for Contravening Law against Employment of Manipulative and Deceptive Devices
- MAS Lifts Ban on the Sale of Structured Notes for DBS Bank Ltd, Malayan Banking Berhad Singapore Branch and the Royal Bank of Scotland N.V. Singapore Branch
- MAS Welcomes Announcement of The Distribution of The Recovery Values of The Minibond Notes
- MAS Statement on Pinnacle Notes Series 1
- Independent Persons Appointed for Pinnacle Notes Series 9 and 10
- MAS Statement on Pinnacle Notes Series 9 and 10
- MAS and Financial Institutions to Ensure Investor Complaints are Dealt With Quickly and Fairly
Source: the Monetary Authority of Singapore, mas.gov.sg, searched 24 September 2026.
OCBC Securities client money
A Singapore client contracts with OCBC Securities Private Limited, the entity FID lists.
Negative balance, as the firm states it: client liable for any resulting deficit (Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026)
Who a Singapore client contracts with
The firm’s Singapore site names the entity in its footer, and you should expect every account document to carry that name too.
Negative balances
The firm states that “your position may be liquidated at a loss and you will be liable for any resulting deficit in your account” if you fail to comply with a request for additional funds within the specified time.
OCBC Securities at a glance: 2 key facts
Here are the deposit and demo facts I would check first: the initial deposit the firm states, which varies by residence and client type, and the demo it offers for practice.
Minimum deposit, as the firm states it: SGD 1,000, initial deposit, local residents; S$5,000 foreigners, S$100,000 corporates (Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026)
Demo account: Available (1 month) (Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026)
OCBC Securities spreads and commission
The account page speaks of competitive spreads for all currency pairs with fractional pricing, and a EUR/USD spread figure is not stated on the firm’s Singapore pages. No figure here was measured by us. If you need a number before trading, ask the firm for its current EUR/USD pricing. I would not open a margin account on the word competitive alone.
What it costs to trade with OCBC Securities
The firm states on its account page that fees for leveraged forex trading depend on the pricing structure and may include transaction-related charges, and that the specific fee amounts, if any, are not listed on the account page and should be confirmed before applying. I would get the fee schedule in writing before funding.
Other fees a Singapore trader should check
On its trading-fx page the firm states no administrative charge for deposits in cash or cheques, a telegraphic transfer inward charge of US$10 per transaction, and a withdrawal minimum of US$40 per transaction, each as levied by correspondent banks, and US$80 per token from the third security token replacement.
OCBC Securities deposits and withdrawals
You can fund the account in cash, by cheque or by telegraphic transfer.
Funding route: cash, cheque, telegraphic transfer (Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026)
Withdrawals, as the firm states them: TT withdrawal, minimum US$40 per transaction levied by correspondent banks (Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026)
Deposit methods (Singapore clients)
The firm states its deposit routes on its trading-fx page, with charges on telegraphic transfers set by the correspondent banks rather than by the firm. You should ask your bank what its own side of a transfer costs before sending funds.
Withdrawals
I would withdraw in larger, less frequent amounts if a per-transaction charge matters.
OCBC Securities account types and minimum deposit
The firm advertises an iOCBC Leveraged Forex Account and iOCBCfx Pro for corporations and professional traders with high forex trade volume.
| Fact | What the record says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Account types on the Singapore site | iOCBC Leveraged Forex Account | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
| Account types on the Singapore site | iOCBCfx Pro (corporations and professional traders) | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
| Accredited investor terms, as the firm states them | accredited investors need not complete the CKA questionnaire | Firm's Singapore site, read 24 September 2026 |
| Customer Knowledge Assessment, as the firm states it | passed CKA required; minimum age 21 | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
| Customer Knowledge Assessment, as the firm states it | CKA form covers leveraged forex | Firm's Singapore site, read 24 September 2026 |
Minimum deposit
The initial deposit the firm states varies by residence and client type. I would not fund an account until the firm confirms the applicable amount in writing.
OCBC Securities trading platforms
The firm advertises two routes: the iOCBCfx platform, which it describes as designed to provide professional-grade execution, real-time information and flexible charting tools, with mobile access for fast order placement, charting tools and real-time alerts, and a FIX API for secured and automated forex trading. If you trade through your own system, you should ask the firm about FIX connectivity before applying.
OCBC Securities execution speed and slippage
Our global panel holds no fill time for this Singapore entity. The firm’s leveraged forex account page states: “Straight Through Processing (STP) We are non-marketmakers who send your trades directly to liquidity providers and do not trade against you.”
OCBC Securities markets
The firm advertises leveraged forex trading on spot currency pairs, with over 40 currency pairs on its account page. I like a broad pair list from a local desk.
| Fact | What the record says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Product: spot FX on margin | Offered | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
| Platforms on the Singapore site | iOCBCfx | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
| Platforms on the Singapore site | FIX API | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
OCBC Securities leverage and margin for Singapore clients
The firm states leverage two ways, each on its own page: the leveraged forex account page says up to 20 times leverage, and the leveraged forex product page says up to 50 times leverage.
| Fact | What the record says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Margin or leverage, as the firm states it | EUR/USD margin 5%; G10 major currencies 5% initial margin; emerging market currencies 5% to 8.5% | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
| Margin or leverage, as the firm states it | leverage 20 times | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
| Margin or leverage, as the firm states it | margin 2%; leverage 50 times; margins below 5% are based on approval | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
| Risk warning, as the firm prints it | Transactions in leveraged FX carry a high degree of risk. | Firm's document for its Singapore entity, read 24 September 2026 |
Table 18 of the Fourth Schedule to the Securities and Futures (Financial and Margin Requirements for Holders of Capital Markets Services Licences) Regulations sets minimum margin for leveraged foreign exchange trading at 5% for a retail customer (20:1, our arithmetic) and 2% for an accredited, expert or institutional investor (50:1, our arithmetic). That table binds every MAS licensee alike, so I would not read it as this firm’s own terms. You should match the margin the firm quotes you against it before you trade.
OCBC Securities customer support
The firm advertises a 24/5 help desk giving technical assistance during market hours, and a form to get a Trading Representative to contact you. I like having a Trading Representative for account matters.
OCBC Securities research, tools and education
The firm’s insights pages carry product education it describes as specially designed for beginners, plus market research and insights reports. I would start with the beginner material myself. If leveraged forex is new to you, start there too, and check how current the research reports are before you rely on them for a trade.
OCBC Securities Private Limited compared with KGI Securities (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. and UOB Kay Hian Private Limited
OCBC Securities Private Limited offers spot FX on margin through its iOCBC platforms, and its pricing is the firm’s stated competitive spreads with fractional pricing, no figure published. KGI Securities (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. offers spot FX on margin through KGI MetaTrader 4 and KGI MaxxTrader, as its Singapore site states, and states spreads “from as low as 1 pip” on major currency pairs, without naming EUR/USD. UOB Kay Hian Private Limited offers leveraged foreign exchange on spot, as its Singapore site states, and states EUR/USD “as low as” 1.8 pips on its LFX spread page.
If a published spread figure matters to you, ask each firm for its current EUR/USD spread before you open, and weigh the answer beside the entity and product terms each states.
Should you open an account with OCBC Securities?
Yes, if you want leveraged forex from a Singapore securities house that states two routes into the market, the iOCBC Leveraged Forex Account and iOCBCfx Pro for corporations and professional traders, OCBC Securities Private Limited is that firm.
You will trade on the firm’s word for spreads and fees rather than a published schedule, and I would not fund the account until the firm confirms both in writing. Before you deposit, check the entity’s record on the MAS Financial Institutions Directory and confirm the fees, spread and margin that will apply to your account with the firm itself.
FAQs
Is OCBC Securities Private Limited listed on the MAS Financial Institutions Directory?
What leverage does the firm state for leveraged forex?
How much is the minimum deposit?
What does the account page say about fees?
Record log
| Record | Detail |
|---|---|
| MAS Financial Institutions Directory read | 24 September 2026 |
| MAS enforcement actions, media releases and Investor Alert List searched | 24 September 2026 |