Forex demo accounts compared: length, virtual funds and platforms
| # | Broker | Score /100 | EUR/USD spread (pips) and commission | Demo account | Platforms | Visit broker | More details |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 93.5Global score | 0.0 pips minimum + commission from $3.50 per lot, per side, Razor account | Free demo, unlimited virtual balance; Pepperstone, MT4 and MT5 demos expire 60 days after creation, cTrader and TradingView demos after 90 days of inactivity | Visit Pepperstone | |||
| |||||||
| 2 | 89Global score | 0.1 pips average + $3.50 commission per lot payable per side, Raw Spread account | free demo; length and virtual balance not stated | Visit IC Markets | |||
| |||||||
| 3 | 88.3Global score | 0.1 pips minimum + commission not published, core pricing | Demo account via sign-up form, Messenger or Telegram; length and virtual balance not stated | Official site of OANDA | |||
| |||||||
| 4 | 80.3Global score | 0.1 pips average + commission not published, ECN account | Demo account offered; length, virtual balance and platforms not stated | Visit MultiBank Group | |||
| |||||||
| 5 | 73Global score | 0.0 pips minimum + $3.5 commission per side per lot, Zero account | Free demo, US$100,000 virtual funds, MT4 and MT5, expires after 45 days (non-expiry on request) | Visit Fintrix Markets | |||
| |||||||
| 6 | 68.2Global score | 1.13 pips average (12 weeks to 29 May 2020) + no commission, CFD trading account | Free IG demo account, $20,000 virtual funds, IG online platform; MT4 demo also available | IG web platform | Visit IG Group | ||
| |||||||
| 7 | 67.6Global score | 0.0 pips minimum + $5 commission per $100k USD traded, RAW Pricing account | Free demo, 90 days, $50,000 virtual funds; FOREX.com platforms, MT4 and MT5 demos | FOREX.com Web trader | Visit FOREX.com | ||
| |||||||
| 8 | 64.6Global score | 0.0 pips minimum + 0.0025% commission, FX Active account | Free demo on all platforms, virtual funds; MT4 and MT5 demos 30 days initially and expire after 30 days inactive; Next Generation demo does not expire | Official site of CMC Markets | |||
| |||||||
| 9 | 64Global score | 0.1 pips minimum + commission from $2 per lot, Hantec Pro account | Free MT4 or MT5 demo for 30 days; virtual balance selectable from $1,000 to $50,000 | Hantec MobileHantec WebTrader | Visit Hantec Markets | ||
| |||||||
| 10 | 62.3Global score | 0.1 pips minimum + commission of 0.08 to 0.20 bps times trade size | Free trial (paper trading) on IBKR Desktop, TWS and IBKR Mobile; length and virtual balance not stated | Client PortalIBKR MobileIBotIBKR Desktop+1 more platform, listed in this broker's detailsClient Portal, IBKR Mobile, IBot, IBKR Desktop, Trader Workstation (TWS) | Visit Interactive Brokers | ||
| |||||||
| 11 | 60.1Global score | 1.1 pips, basis not stated + commission not published, Classic account | 20-day demo account, simulated US$100,000 | SaxoInvestorSaxoTrader | Visit Saxo Markets | ||
| |||||||
| 12 | 57.3Global score | 1.1 pips live quote + no commission, CFD account | Free training account, terms (length, balance) not stated | xStation 5XTB mobile appweb platform (desktop and mobile, iOS and Android) | Official site of XTB | ||
| |||||||
| 13 | 54.9Global score | Not published in pips + commission not published | Free demo account (Virtual Portfolio), $100,000 virtual funds, CFDs, leverage and CopyTrader available | eToro web platformeToro mobile app | Visit eToro | ||
| |||||||
| 14 | 54.5Global score | 0.3 pips average + $5 commission per side, RAW account | demo account offered; length, virtual balance and platforms not stated | Official site of Purple Trading | |||
| |||||||
| 15 | 43.7Global score | Not published + 6.00 USD commission round turn per standard contract | 60 days, MT5, USD, EUR or GBP; live account holders can ask for an ongoing demo | MT5 (MetaTrader 5)with ATC proprietary MT5 plug-in | Visit ATC Brokers | ||
| |||||||
"US$" marks amounts where the broker names US dollars; a bare "$" prints as the broker prints it. Each "+" detail carries one licence basis word: "register" where we read the regulator's register, "broker's statement" where we did not. The brokers' companies are licensed in Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Denmark, Mauritius, Seychelles, The Bahamas, and United States. We read the pages from a Malaysian connection on 29 and 30 September 2026.
Key sections
Fintrix Markets: Category-weighted score 63.8. Published rating 73, which includes an editorial adjustment of +9.2. Adjustments are disclosed on every page they apply to; see our methodology.
The best forex demo accounts in Malaysia, ranked
Ordered by our global score, highest first.
- Pepperstone - unlimited virtual balance on its free demo
- IC Markets - raw spread accounts plus IC Social copy trading
- OANDA - demo sign-up through Messenger or Telegram
- MultiBank Group - Standard, Pro and ECN account types
- Fintrix Markets - US$100,000 demo funds, 45-day expiry
- IG Group - $20,000 demo funds on the IG platform
- FOREX.com - 90-day demo with $50,000 virtual funds
- CMC Markets - Next Generation demo that does not expire
- Hantec Markets - selectable demo balance from $1,000
- Interactive Brokers - paper trading on Desktop, TWS and Mobile
- Saxo Markets - 20-day demo with simulated US$100,000
- XTB - free training account on xStation 5
- eToro - Virtual Portfolio with CopyTrader access
- Purple Trading - RAW account at 0.3 pips average
- ATC Brokers - 60-day MT5 demo in three currencies
Which broker has the best forex demo account?
1. Pepperstone
Pepperstone's free demo comes with an unlimited virtual balance, though Pepperstone, MT4 and MT5 demos expire 60 days after creation, and cTrader and TradingView demos after 90 days of inactivity. Razor spreads start from 0.0 pips (minimum), and Standard and Razor accounts open with $0. Pepperstone takes Malaysian residents through Pepperstone Markets Limited (The Bahamas).
- Company
- Pepperstone Markets Limited, The Bahamas
- Regulator
- the Securities Commission of The Bahamas, licence SIA-F217 register
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 0.0 pips minimum + commission from $3.50 per lot, per side, Razor account
- Minimum deposit
- $0, Standard and Razor accounts (minimum funding amount $10 or local equivalent)
- Platforms
- Pepperstone platform and app, MT4, MT5, TradingView, cTrader
Sources for Pepperstone
- pepperstone.com (takes Malaysians), read 30 September 2026
- pepperstone.com (spread, commission, deposit, platforms), read 29 September 2026
2. IC Markets
IC Markets offers a free demo, with its length and virtual balance not stated. Raw Spread average spreads run 0.1 pips, Raw Spread and Standard accounts need no minimum funding, and IC Social copy trading is powered by Pelican Trading. IC Markets takes Malaysian residents through Raw Trading Ltd (Seychelles).
- Company
- Raw Trading Ltd, Seychelles
- Regulator
- the Financial Services Authority of Seychelles, licence SD018 register
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 0.1 pips average + $3.50 commission per lot payable per side, Raw Spread account
- Minimum deposit
- $0, Raw Spread account (MetaTrader); also $0 on Raw Spread (cTrader) and Standard
- Platforms
- MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, IC mobile app
3. OANDA
You can open an OANDA demo through a sign-up form, Messenger or Telegram, with the length not stated. The Standard account needs no initial deposit, core pricing spreads start from 0.1 pips (minimum, plus commission), and copy trading is built into MT5. OANDA takes Malaysian residents through OANDA Global Markets Ltd (British Virgin Islands).
- Company
- OANDA Global Markets Ltd, British Virgin Islands
- Regulator
- the British Virgin Islands Financial Services Commission, licence SIBA/L/20/1130 register
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 0.1 pips minimum + commission not published, core pricing
- Minimum deposit
- No initial deposit required, Standard account
- Platforms
- MT5, fxTrade, TradingView
Sources for OANDA
- help.oanda.com (takes Malaysians), read 29 September 2026
- oanda.com (spread, commission), read 28 September 2026
- help.oanda.com (deposit), read 29 September 2026
- oanda.com (platforms), read 28 September 2026
4. MultiBank Group
MultiBank Group offers a demo account, though its length, virtual balance and platforms are not stated. Live accounts start at $50 on Standard ($1,000 Pro, $10,000 ECN), ECN average spreads run 0.1 pips, and copy trading runs through Social Trading. MultiBank Group takes Malaysian residents through MEX Atlantic Corporation (Cayman Islands).
- Company
- MEX Atlantic Corporation, Cayman Islands
- Regulator
- the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority, licence 1811316 broker’s statement
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 0.1 pips average + commission not published, ECN account
- Minimum deposit
- $50 on the Standard account ($1,000 Pro, $10,000 ECN)
- Platforms
- MT4, MT5, Web Trader MT4, Web Trader MT5, Social Trading, MB Trader
Sources for MultiBank Group
- multibankfx.com (takes Malaysians), read 30 September 2026
- multibankfx.com (spread), read 29 September 2026
- multibankfx.com (commission), read 30 September 2026
- multibankfx.com (deposit), read 29 September 2026
- multibankfx.com (platforms), read 29 September 2026
5. Fintrix Markets
Category-weighted score 63.8. Published rating 73, which includes an editorial adjustment of +9.2. Adjustments are disclosed on every page they apply to; see our methodology.
Fintrix Markets gives you a free demo with US$100,000 in virtual funds on MT4 and MT5, expiring after 45 days unless you request non-expiry. The Zero account has minimum spreads of 0.0 pips, and the Standard account opens with US$0. Fintrix Markets takes Malaysian residents through Fintrix Markets Ltd (Mauritius).
- Company
- Fintrix Markets Ltd, Mauritius
- Regulator
- the Financial Services Commission, Mauritius, licence GB22200883 broker’s statement
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 0.0 pips minimum + $3.5 commission per side per lot, Zero account
- Minimum deposit
- US$0, Standard account (Zero account US$200, Cent account US$10)
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, WebTrader, Social trading
Sources for Fintrix Markets
- fintrixmarkets.com (takes Malaysians, platforms), read 29 September 2026
- fintrixmarkets.com (spread, commission), read 29 September 2026
- fintrixmarkets.com (deposit), read 28 September 2026
6. IG Group
IG's free demo account comes with $20,000 in virtual funds on the IG online platform, with an MT4 demo also available. The CFD trading account has no minimum balance, though card funding requires at least US$50. Platforms include TradingView, MT4, MT5, and L2 Dealer. IG Group takes Malaysian residents through IG International Limited (Bermuda).
- Company
- IG International Limited, Bermuda
- Regulator
- the Bermuda Monetary Authority (Investment Business licence) register
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 1.13 pips average (12 weeks to 29 May 2020) + no commission, CFD trading account
- Minimum deposit
- No minimum balance, CFD trading account (card funding minimum US$50, no minimum for bank transfers)
- Platforms
- IG web platform, IG trading app, TradingView, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer
Sources for IG Group
- live.client-onboarding.ig.com (takes Malaysians), read 30 September 2026
- ig.com (spread), read 29 September 2026
- ig.com (commission, platforms), read 29 September 2026
- ig.com (deposit), read 29 September 2026
7. FOREX.com
FOREX.com's free demo runs for 90 days with $50,000 in virtual funds, covering its own platforms plus MT4 and MT5. Standard Account funding starts at $100, and RAW Pricing spreads start from 0.0 pips (minimum). The mobile app covers iOS and Android. FOREX.com takes Malaysian residents through GAIN Global Markets Inc. (Cayman Islands).
- Company
- GAIN Global Markets Inc., Cayman Islands
- Regulator
- the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority, licence 25033 register
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 0.0 pips minimum + $5 commission per $100k USD traded, RAW Pricing account
- Minimum deposit
- $100, Standard Account (FAQ: 100 of the selected base currency)
- Platforms
- FOREX.com Web trader, FOREX.com mobile app, TradingView, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5
Sources for FOREX.com
- application.forex.com (takes Malaysians), read 30 September 2026
- forex.com (spread, commission), read 29 September 2026
- forex.com (deposit), read 29 September 2026
- forex.com (platforms), read 29 September 2026
8. CMC Markets
Every CMC platform has a free demo with virtual funds: MT4 and MT5 demos run 30 days initially and expire after 30 days of inactivity, while the Next Generation demo does not expire. FX Active spreads start from 0.0 pips (minimum). CMC Markets takes Malaysian residents through CMC Markets Bermuda Limited (Bermuda).
- Company
- CMC Markets Bermuda Limited, Bermuda
- Regulator
- the Bermuda Monetary Authority (Investment Business licence) register
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 0.0 pips minimum + 0.0025% commission, FX Active account
- Minimum deposit
- None required to open a live trading account (no amount or currency stated), standard and FX Active accounts
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView, CMC NextGen (Next Generation web platform)
Sources for CMC Markets
- signup.cmcmarkets.com (takes Malaysians), read 30 September 2026
- cmcmarkets.com (spread, commission, deposit, platforms), read 29 September 2026
9. Hantec Markets
Hantec Markets provides a free MT4 or MT5 demo for 30 days, with a virtual balance you can select between $1,000 and $50,000. Live funding starts from US$10 on the Hantec Global account, and Pro account spreads start from 0.1 pips (minimum). Hantec Markets takes Malaysian residents through Hantec Markets Ltd (Mauritius).
- Company
- Hantec Markets Ltd, Mauritius
- Regulator
- the Financial Services Commission, Mauritius, licence C114013940 broker’s statement
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 0.1 pips minimum + commission from $2 per lot, Hantec Pro account
- Minimum deposit
- US$10, Hantec Global account (Pro account also from US$10)
- Platforms
- Hantec Mobile, Hantec WebTrader, Hantec Social, MT4, MT5
Sources for Hantec Markets
- hmarkets.com (takes Malaysians), read 30 September 2026
- hmarkets.com (spread, commission), read 29 September 2026
- hmarkets.com (deposit), read 29 September 2026
- hmarkets.com (platforms), read 29 September 2026
10. Interactive Brokers
Interactive Brokers offers a free paper trading trial on IBKR Desktop, Trader Workstation and IBKR Mobile, with the length not stated. IBKR Pro has a US$0 minimum balance, spreads start from 0.1 pips (minimum, plus commission), and it offers individual and joint accounts. Interactive Brokers takes Malaysian residents through Interactive Brokers LLC (United States).
- Company
- Interactive Brokers LLC, United States
- Regulator
- the US Securities and Exchange Commission, FINRA CRD 36418 register
- EUR/USD spread and commission
- 0.1 pips minimum + commission of 0.08 to 0.20 bps times trade size
- Minimum deposit
- US$0 minimum balance, IBKR Pro (no account minimums)
- Platforms
- Client Portal, IBKR Mobile, IBot, IBKR Desktop, Trader Workstation (TWS)
Sources for Interactive Brokers
- interactivebrokers.com (takes Malaysians), read 29 September 2026
- interactivebrokers.com (spread, commission), read 29 September 2026
- interactivebrokers.com (deposit, platforms), read 29 September 2026
Other brokers on our Malaysian list with a demo account

11. Saxo Markets 60.1/100
Saxo Bank A/S, Denmark; Danish Financial Supervisory Authority broker’s statement
Saxo Markets gives you a 20-day demo account with simulated US$100,000 in virtual funds.

12. XTB 57.3/100
XTB International Limited, Belize; Financial Services Commission of Belize register
XTB offers a free training account, though its length and balance terms are not stated.

13. eToro 54.9/100
eToro (Seychelles) Limited, Seychelles; Financial Services Authority of Seychelles register
eToro's Virtual Portfolio has $100,000 in virtual funds with CopyTrader and CFDs available.

14. Purple Trading 54.5/100
AXSE Brokerage Ltd., Seychelles; Financial Services Authority of Seychelles register
Purple Trading offers a demo account, with length, virtual balance and platforms not stated.

15. ATC Brokers 43.7/100
ATC Brokers Limited (Cayman Islands), Cayman Islands; Cayman Islands Monetary Authority register
ATC Brokers gives a 60-day MT5 demo in USD, EUR or GBP, ongoing for live account holders.
The brokers on this page take Malaysian residents through companies licensed outside Malaysia, not by Malaysian regulators. Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) said on 12 July 2024: “Forex trading, except those that are carried out with banks licensed by BNM, is illegal!” The quote comes from BNM’s statement of 12 July 2024.
Which forex demo accounts do not expire?
Of the 15 brokers, 7 state a length, and FOREX.com’s 90 days is the longest. The other lengths are 60, 45, 30, and 20 days. CMC Markets’ Next Generation demo never expires, Pepperstone’s cTrader and TradingView demos expire only after 90 days of inactivity, Fintrix Markets sets non-expiry on request, and ATC Brokers’ live account holders can request ongoing demos. Interactive Brokers’ paper trading runs on IBKR Mobile; see Best Forex Trading Apps in Malaysia (2026) and the chart below.
How much virtual money does a forex demo account give?
Virtual balances are stated differently: a fixed figure, a range, or unlimited. Only Fintrix Markets and Saxo Markets name US dollars, at US$100,000 each. IG Group gives $20,000, FOREX.com $50,000, and eToro $100,000. Hantec Markets lets you choose from $1,000 to $50,000, and Pepperstone states an unlimited balance. Others state none.
How to use a forex demo account before you trade live
Before you trade live, I recommend using a forex demo account as a dress rehearsal. Size each position as if the balance were real. Practise on the pair you will trade. Test the platform you will trade on; order types and charts differ between MT4, MT5, and broker platforms. Check the demo’s expiry date. If MT4 is your platform, see our Best MT4 Brokers in Malaysia (2026) guide. The lot size calculator below does the arithmetic.
How much do you need to open a live account after a demo?
Nine of the 15 brokers state no minimum deposit or a zero minimum, including Pepperstone, IC Markets, OANDA, and Interactive Brokers. The rest state figures: Hantec Markets US$10, eToro US$50 (first deposit), MultiBank Group $50, FOREX.com $100, Purple Trading $500, and ATC Brokers US$2,000. See our Best Forex Brokers in Malaysia (2026) and Lowest Spread Forex Brokers in Malaysia (2026) pages.
FAQs
Which broker has the best forex demo account in Malaysia?
Which forex demo accounts do not expire?
How long does a forex demo account last?
How much virtual money do you get in a forex demo account?
Which brokers offer a free MT5 demo account?
Can you lose real money on a demo account?
Related pages
About the author
Justin Grossbard is the Co-Founder and CEO of CompareForexBrokers, which he established with Noam Korbl in 2014. He has over 20 years of professional experience in online marketing and holds a Master's in Marketing from Monash University.
Our reviews are reader-supported. We may receive payment when you click a link to a partner site. Learn how we make money.