Skip to content
CompareForexBrokers

Best MT5 Brokers For 2026

BlackBull Markets is our pick among MT5 brokers, with a 72 ms average limit-order fill in our 2026 execution test of 36 brokers, against 145 ms for the other 35. We ran Expert Advisors on MetaTrader 4 demo accounts, timing limit and market orders from placement to execution. You can open the ECN Prime account with a US$0 minimum deposit and a US$3.00 per side commission per standard lot.

Justin Grossbard, Co-Founder of CompareForexBrokers Written by Justin Grossbard Last updated:

Why trust Compare Forex Brokers. Our reviews are reader-supported. We may receive payment when you click a link to a partner site. Learn how we make money.

Trading Forex and CFDs with leverage poses significant risk of loss to your capital.

What is the best MT5 broker?

The best MT5 broker is BlackBull Markets, our editors' pick, with a 72 ms average limit-order fill, the fastest of the 36 brokers in our 2026 execution test, which ran on MetaTrader 4 demo accounts.

We pick BlackBull Markets for MT5 because its limit orders filled in 72 ms on average in our 2026 execution test of 36 brokers. We timed limit and market orders from placement to execution, running Expert Advisors on MetaTrader 4 demo accounts at the 36 brokers over two 30-hour periods in 2026.

BrokerLimit order fillLimit rank (of 36)Market order fillMarket rank (of 36)
BlackBull Markets72 ms190 ms5
Pepperstone77 ms2100 ms10
Fusion Markets79 ms377 ms1
Tickmill91 ms9112 ms11
Exness92 ms1088 ms3
IC Markets134 ms16153 ms22
Eightcap143 ms19139 ms17
FP Markets225 ms3196 ms8
TabTradeNot tested-Not tested-
MultiBank GroupNot tested-Not tested-
Other 35 brokers tested (average)145 ms---

Rows are ordered by limit-order fill time, fastest first, with each rank out of 36 brokers, and TabTrade and MultiBank Group read "Not tested" because they were not in the test.

The fill times in this table come from our 2026 execution test of 36 brokers, which timed orders on MetaTrader 4 demo accounts rather than on MT5.

RankBrokerScoreRegulationEUR/USD raw (pips)Raw spread basisEUR/USD standard (pips)Commission per sideMin. depositLimit order fillMarket order fillPlatformsVisit
1BlackBull Markets logo BlackBull Markets84.5FMA, FSA-Sfrom 0.00 pipsadvertised minimum, ECN Prime (BlackBull)1.1US$3.00US$072 ms90 msMT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, BlackBull CopyTraderVisit
2Pepperstone logo Pepperstone93.5FCA, ASIC, BaFin, CySEC, DFSA, CMA, SCB0.10 pipsadvertised, average 1-31 Aug 2026 (Pepperstone)1.1US$3.50US$077 ms100 msMT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone platformVisit
3IC Markets logo IC Markets89ASIC, CySEC, FSA-S, SCB, CMA0.10 pipsadvertised, labelled average, no period (IC Markets)0.8 (min)US$3.50US$200134 ms153 msMT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingViewVisit
4Fusion Markets logo Fusion Markets85ASIC, VFSC, FSA-S0.03 pipsadvertised, our calc. from Fusion hourly averages, 27 Aug-25 Sep 20260.83US$2.25US$079 ms77 msMT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingViewVisit
5TabTrade logo TabTrade81.5FSC Mauritius (sibling entity)0.03 pipsadvertised, Edge average, April 2026, Datalyst tick data (TabTrade)From 1.0US$3.50US$250 (Edge)Not testedNot testedMT5 (cTrader and TradingView announced)Visit
6MultiBank Group logo MultiBank Group80.3ASIC, BaFin, MAS, CySEC, CMA, FSC-BVI, VFSC, CIMA, FSC-M, FSA-S and others0.10 pipsadvertised, labelled Average Spread, ECN, no period (MultiBank)1.5Not publishedUS$50Not testedNot testedMT4, MT5, MultiBank-PlusVisit
7Exness logo Exness80FCA, CySEC, FSCA, CMA, FSA-S, FSC-M, FSC-BVI and othersabout 0.2 pipsMyfxbook average, 24-26 Sep 2026, account not named0.8 (published)US$3.50US$200 (Raw Spread)92 ms88 msMT4, MT5, Exness Terminal, Exness Trade appVisit
8FP Markets logo FP Markets78.4ASIC, FSA-S, FSC-M, FSCA, CMA0.10 pipsadvertised, labelled Avg, September 2026, method not stated (FP Markets)1.2US$3.00US$100225 ms96 msMT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, WebTraderVisit
9Eightcap logo Eightcap77.5ASIC, FCA, CySEC, SCB, FSA-S, FSC-Mfrom 0.00 pipsadvertised minimum (Eightcap)1.0 (min)US$3.50US$100143 ms139 msMT4, MT5, TradingView, TradeLockerVisit
10Tickmill logo Tickmill75.8FCA, CySEC, FSCA, FSA-S0.10 pipsadvertised, labelled typical, no period (Tickmill)1.6US$3.00US$10091 ms112 msMT4, MT5, TradingView, Tickmill Trader, Tickmill appVisit

Some of the abbreviations on this page are expanded to the regulator's full name: a broker regulated by ASIC is regulated by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission; by FCA, the Financial Conduct Authority; by DFSA, the Dubai Financial Services Authority.

The spread and commission cells are each broker's own published figures, with the basis shown in the Raw spread basis column, and a "from" figure is a minimum rather than an average. Exness's spread comes from Myfxbook rather than from Exness, and your costs will depend on the entity that opens your account. The spread, commission, and deposit figures are a desk-based assessment of published pricing, and nobody on the team measured them.

You can sort the table by any column, and sorting changes only the display order, never a broker's rank on this page, which stays our editors' pick first and then our published rating.

Our editors’ pick first, then by our overall rating, highest first.

  1. BlackBull Markets - Our Editors’ Pick For MT5
  2. Pepperstone - Highest Rating On This List
  3. IC Markets - Our 2026 Best MT5 Broker Award
  4. Fusion Markets - Lowest Commission On This List
  5. TabTrade - MT5-Only Broker With Free VPS
  6. MultiBank Group - Stock CFDs On MT5
  7. Exness - US$10 Entry, Shares On MT5
  8. FP Markets - Traders Toolbox Add-Ons
  9. Eightcap - FlashTrader EA For MT5
  10. Tickmill - MT5 On Every Tickmill Entity

This video was published on January 31, 2026, and it names IC Markets first, but our ranking has changed since, with BlackBull Markets our editors' pick for MT5 from September 27, 2026.

Can US residents use these MT5 brokers?

No, none of the ten MT5 brokers on this page accepts United States residents, and no registration with the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) or the National Futures Association (NFA) appears in any of their regulator lists. The reason is a United States rule: under the Commodity Exchange Act, read September 28, 2026, a retail forex counterparty in the United States must be one of the entity types the Act lists, which in the CFTC regime means a registered futures commission merchant or a retail foreign exchange dealer that is a member of the NFA.

If you live in the United States, you still have a route to MT5. Our United States hub compares six CFTC-registered dealers, and for MetaTrader 5 it names tastyfx, FOREX.com, and Trading.com, which list MT5 on their US sites.

Key sections
Our Editors’ Pick For MT5

1. BlackBull Markets

84.5/100
Global score
#1 of 10 in this ranking

BlackBull Markets review

EUR/USD raw spread

From 0.0 pips + US$3.00 per side

Platforms

MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, BlackBull CopyTrader

Minimum deposit

US$0

Why We Recommend BlackBull Markets

Our editors' pick for MetaTrader 5 (MT5) is BlackBull Markets, and I recommend it if you want a raw-spread account on MT5 with no minimum deposit. It sits first on this page as our editors' pick, chosen on 27 September 2026, and it carries a rating of 84.5. I would send scalpers and automated traders here first, because the ECN Prime account pairs a 0.0 pip minimum EUR/USD spread with US$3.00 per side in commission, and the account opens with US$0 down.

The main trade-off is trust. BlackBull holds an FMA (New Zealand) licence and an FSA (Seychelles) licence, and its Trust score of 5 out of 10 is the joint lowest in our top five, alongside Fusion Markets and TabTrade, so you should weigh that against its costs before you fund an account. It also does not accept US residents. Check which entity would hold your account, then read our full BlackBull Markets review before you commit.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Spreads from 0.0 pips on ECN Prime
  • US$3.00 per side commission
  • US$0 minimum deposit
  • Fastest limit orders we timed on MT4

Cons

  • Trust score of 5 out of 10
  • No EUR/USD average published
  • Does not accept US residents
Broker Details

What You Get On MT5

On MetaTrader 5 (MT5) at BlackBull Markets you can keep up to 100 charts open at once across 21 timeframes, which matters if you watch many pairs or run charts on several sessions. The MQL5 Wizard for building Expert Advisors is included, and market depth shows where resting orders sit. MetaTrader 4 (MT4), cTrader, TradingView, BlackBull CopyTrader and BlackBull Invest sit on the same account, with MT5 apps for iOS and Android. I like that every platform sits on one account, and BlackBull Markets is our editors' pick for MT5. To compare platforms first, our MT4 vs MT5 comparison breaks down the differences.

Execution, Costs And Leverage

Our 2026 execution test, published in the BlackBull Markets review, ran on MetaTrader 4 demo accounts and timed its average limit order at 72 milliseconds, the fastest of the 36 brokers in the test. The other 35 brokers averaged 145 milliseconds on limit orders, and BlackBull's market orders averaged 90 milliseconds. For you, that means less slippage on entries when the market moves fast. I recommend the ECN Prime account at US$3.00 per side (US$6 round turn) per standard lot, because limit orders that fill in about half the time the other 35 brokers averaged justify the fee. The Standard account runs 1.1 pips with no commission, as quoted by BlackBull's support in September 2026. Leverage runs up to 500:1, though the cap depends on the entity that holds the account.

Highest Rating On This List

2. Pepperstone

93.5/100
Global score
#2 of 10 in this ranking

Pepperstone review

EUR/USD raw spread

0.1 pips average (August 2026) + US$3.50 per side

Platforms

MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone platform

Minimum deposit

US$0

Why We Recommend Pepperstone

Pepperstone ranks second with our highest published rating of any broker on this page, 93.5, and I would send you there if you want an all-round package on MT5. Its Razor account averaged 0.1 pips on EUR/USD across 1 to 31 August 2026, with commission of US$3.50 per side. I recommend it for traders who value regulation across several jurisdictions and a polished platform experience over the absolute lowest headline spread.

The trade-off is cost at the margin. Fusion Markets charges less commission and IC Markets advertises a lower standard-account spread, so Razor's US$7 round turn is mid-pack here rather than cheapest. Against that you get a Trading Platform score of 10 out of 10 and eight regulators, including the FCA (United Kingdom) and ASIC. Decide whether a slightly higher commission is worth that oversight, then check our Pepperstone review for the detail.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Razor averaged 0.1 pips EUR/USD
  • Regulated by eight authorities
  • MT5 on desktop, web and mobile
  • Demos extendable after funding

Cons

  • US$3.50 per side commission
  • Recommends depositing US$200
  • Does not accept US residents
Broker Details

Razor Pricing On MT5

Razor pricing on MetaTrader 5 (MT5) is transparent: Pepperstone publishes the 0.1 pip average from data covering all sessions including rollover for 1 to 31 August 2026, so you can see what you pay rather than a best-case minimum. Commission is US$3.50 per side (US$7 round turn) per standard lot, which means a round turn on one lot costs US$7 on top of the spread. I recommend the Razor account on MT5 because an all-session average makes the true cost easier to judge. The Standard account advertises 1.1 pips on EUR/USD for traders who prefer no commission. Our low-commissions page shows where that US$7 sits among competitors.

Share CFDs And Demo Accounts

Share CFDs sit on MetaTrader 5 (MT5) and not on MetaTrader 4 (MT4) at Pepperstone, so if you want to trade stocks alongside forex, MT5 is the account to open. The MT5 demo lasts 60 days and extends once you fund a live account, which gives two months to trial a strategy before risking money. I like that the demo keeps running once a live account is funded, because most traders need that bridge. MetaTrader Trading Signals is one of five copy trading routes the review lists, alongside Signal Start, DupliTrade, Copy Trading by Pepperstone and cTrader Copy. There is no minimum deposit, though Pepperstone recommends at least US$200.

Our 2026 Best MT5 Broker Award

3. IC Markets

89/100
Global score
#3 of 10 in this ranking

IC Markets review

EUR/USD raw spread

0.01 pips labelled average + US$3.50 per side

Platforms

MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView

Minimum deposit

US$200

Why We Recommend IC Markets

IC Markets takes third with a rating of 89, and I would send you there for a cheap raw account with a wide platform choice. Its Raw Spread account publishes a 0.1 pip average on EUR/USD, labelled as an average by IC Markets with no period or method stated, and charges US$3.50 per side. I recommend it if you want MT5, MT4, cTrader and TradingView from one broker, with mobile apps for all four and no proprietary platform to learn.

The trade-off is the entry cost and the spread basis. IC Markets asks you to fund US$200 before you trade, and the 0.1 pip figure carries no stated period, so you cannot check how it was calculated the way you can with Pepperstone's dated average. Weigh that against its Trading Costs score of 9 out of 10, then read our IC Markets review before you open the account.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Four platforms, all with apps
  • Raw Spread 0.01 pips labelled average
  • MT5 hosted at Equinix NY4
  • Trading Costs score 9 out of 10

Cons

  • US$200 minimum deposit
  • Spread average has no stated period
  • Does not accept US residents
Broker Details

Raw Spread Costs On MT5

Raw Spread costs on MetaTrader 5 (MT5) run at US$3.50 per side (US$7 round turn) per standard lot, on top of the 0.1 pip EUR/USD figure IC Markets labels as an average. Because no period or method is stated, my advice is to treat that number as indicative until your own fills confirm it. The Standard account starts from 0.8 pips as a published minimum with no commission, which suits traders who would rather avoid per-lot fees entirely. Our lowest-spreads page ranks brokers by the average EUR/USD raw spread each publishes, lowest first, with brokers that state how and when they measured coming first, so a figure with no stated period, like this one, sits behind them.

Where IC Markets Hosts MT5

IC Markets hosts MetaTrader 4 (MT4) and MetaTrader 5 (MT5) at the Equinix NY4 data centre in New York, while cTrader runs from LD5 in London, so MT5 orders execute close to the servers. That matters most for news trading or scalping, where every millisecond of latency can cost you a fraction of a pip. I would pick MT5 here for the integrated economic calendar alone, because MT4 lacks it. MT5 uses MQL5 for Expert Advisors and MT4 uses MQL4. ASIC, CySEC, the FSA (Seychelles), the SCB (Bahamas) and the CMA regulate IC Markets, and it does not accept US residents.

Lowest Commission On This List

4. Fusion Markets

85/100
Global score
#4 of 10 in this ranking

Fusion Markets review

EUR/USD raw spread

0.03 pips (our calc. from Fusion data) + US$2.25 per side

Platforms

MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView

Minimum deposit

US$0

Why We Recommend Fusion Markets

Fusion Markets earns fourth place with a rating of 85 on the back of its costs, and I recommend it if commission is your priority. Its US$2.25 per side (US$4.50 round turn) is the lowest commission of any broker on this page, and our calculation from Fusion's own hourly average spreads, 27 August to 25 September 2026, puts the Zero account at 0.03 pips average on EUR/USD. I would send high-volume traders here first, because per-lot fees compound fastest for you.

The trade-off is depth beyond the platform. Its Education score of 6 out of 10 and Trust score of 5 out of 10 trail Pepperstone's 9s, so you get less guidance and a lighter regulatory footprint in exchange for the pricing. DupliTrade and Fusion+ Copy Trading are open only to offshore clients, not ASIC clients. Check which entity applies to you, then read our Fusion Markets review for the full picture.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Lowest commission on this page
  • 0.03 pips average, our calculation
  • US$0 minimum deposit
  • MT5 suits share CFD trading

Cons

  • Trust score of 5 out of 10
  • Education score of 6 out of 10
  • Does not accept US residents
Broker Details

Zero Account Costs

Zero account costs start with the US$2.25 per side commission, and the 0.03 pip average comes from our arithmetic: an unweighted mean of 515 hourly averages Fusion publishes on its own spread tool for 27 August to 25 September 2026. It is not a single figure Fusion publishes, so treat it as our calculation on Fusion's data. On one lot, a round turn costs US$4.50 plus spread, roughly two-thirds of Pepperstone's US$7, which is why I'd start with the Zero account here. The Classic account advertises 0.83 pips with no commission, and both can be compared against the field on our low-commissions page.

MT5 Features And VPS

MetaTrader 5 (MT5) at Fusion Markets gives you 21 timeframes and 6 pending order types, against 9 and 4 on MetaTrader 4 (MT4), and the review suggests MT5 if you want to trade shares. Automation runs through MT4/MT5 Signals and cTrader Copy for all clients. If Expert Advisors run around the clock, discounted third-party VPS hosting for MT4 and MT5 is available through NYC Servers at 25% off monthly and FXVM at 20% off monthly. I prefer a broker that discounts VPS hosting for both MetaTrader platforms, and Fusion does that. ASIC, the VFSC (Vanuatu) and the FSA (Seychelles) regulate Fusion Markets, and it does not accept US residents.

MT5-Only Broker With Free VPS

5. TabTrade

81.5/100
Global score
#5 of 10 in this ranking

TabTrade review

EUR/USD raw spread

0.03 pips average (April 2026) + US$3.50 per side

Platforms

MT5 (cTrader and TradingView announced)

Minimum deposit

US$250 (Edge)

Why We Recommend TabTrade

TabTrade lands fifth with a rating of 81.5, and I would send you there if you want a broker built around MetaTrader 5. MetaTrader 5 is its main platform on desktop, web and mobile, with cTrader and TradingView marked as coming soon, and it does not offer MT4 at all because MT4 cannot carry its full range of stocks, ETFs and commodities. I recommend it for multi-asset traders who live in MT5 and want depth of market and MQL5 Expert Advisors in one place.

The trade-off is polish and transparency. Its Trading Platform score is 6 out of 10, and the review notes a dated interface, cramped mobile screens and a WebTrader with fewer indicators and no Expert Advisor support, while its follower and provider copy trading fees are not disclosed publicly. The Edge account needs US$250 to open, against US$0 for TabTrade's Standard account, so check our TabTrade review before you deposit.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Edge averaged 0.03 pips EUR/USD
  • Full stock and ETF range on MT5
  • Free MT5-integrated VPS
  • Up to 1000:1 leverage under FSC entity

Cons

  • Dated MT5 interface
  • US$250 Edge minimum deposit
  • Copy trading fees undisclosed
Broker Details

Edge Account Costs

Edge account costs are well evidenced: the 0.03 pip average for April 2026 comes from Datalyst tick-level data compiled on 4 May 2026 and published on TabTrade's own spreads page. Commission is US$3.50 per side (US$7 round turn) per standard lot, so a round turn on one lot costs US$7 plus spread, the same as Pepperstone and IC Markets. I rate the Edge account highly, because a tick-level average with a stated period beats a bare minimum. The Standard account advertises spreads from 1.0 pip with no commission and a US$0 minimum deposit, read from tabtrade.com on 15 September 2026. See our lowest-spreads page for how these averages compare.

An MT5-Only Line-Up

TabTrade runs MetaTrader 5 (MT5) as its only platform: 38 or more technical indicators, 21 timeframes, depth of market, MQL5 Expert Advisors, and buy-stop-limit and sell-stop-limit orders. MT5 runs on Equinix LD5 in London and NY4 in New York, and a free MT5-integrated VPS is managed from inside the platform, with external VPS available through Beeks and NYC Servers. Copy trading runs through TabTrade's own system in its mobile app and account portal, though the fees are not public. My advice is to ask support for those numbers before you follow anyone. The FSC Mauritius licence is held by a sibling entity, and US residents are not accepted.

Stock CFDs On MT5

6. MultiBank Group

80.3/100
Global score
#6 of 10 in this ranking

MultiBank Group review

EUR/USD standard spread

1.5 pips advertised

Platforms

MT4, MT5, MultiBank-Plus

Minimum deposit

US$50

Why We Recommend MultiBank Group

MultiBank Group holds rank 6 on our overall rating, 80.3. I would send you here if you want deep regulatory coverage, with our dataset counting 17 or more authorities across five continents, and MT5 access alongside the broker's own MultiBank-Plus platform. It does not accept US residents, so check your own jurisdiction first.

In my opinion the trade-off is cost transparency: the ECN account advertises spreads from 0.0 pips with a US$10,000 minimum deposit, but MultiBank publishes no ECN commission figure, so you cannot know your round-turn cost before you open the account. Ask support for the full commission schedule in writing before you deposit.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Regulated by 17 or more authorities
  • MT5 adds stock CFDs over MT4
  • News and VPS support included
  • Leverage up to 1000:1 by entity

Cons

  • ECN commission not published
  • ECN needs US$10,000 deposit
  • Standard spread 1.5 pips
Broker Details

Accounts And Costs

The Standard account charges no commission and an advertised EUR/USD spread of 1.5 pips, the second widest standard-account spread on this page, with only Tickmill's 1.6 pips higher. From a US$1,000 deposit, the Pro account drops the spread to 0.8 pips, and the ECN account goes from 0.0 pips with a US$10,000 deposit, though the ECN commission must be confirmed with the broker. A US$50 minimum gets you in the door. Advertised leverage reaches 1000:1 depending on the entity, which cuts both ways for margin and risk. I would start at the Pro account rather than the Standard, since 1.5 pips costs more per lot than the commission accounts above.

MT5 Beside MultiBank-Plus

MetaTrader 5 (MT5) runs at MultiBank alongside MetaTrader 4 (MT4) and MultiBank-Plus, the broker's own web and mobile platform with TradingView-powered charts. Our review notes MultiBank-Plus still lacks some order types and risk tools that MT4 and MT5 carry, so if you rely on those, MetaTrader is the safer home. MT5 also adds stock CFDs, which MT4 does not support at MultiBank. Social trading runs through EX Social Trading or the MetaTrader Signals market. I'd make MT5 my pick at MultiBank, since it carries the order types MultiBank-Plus lacks and the share CFDs in one place.

US$10 Entry, Shares On MT5

7. Exness

80/100
Global score
#7 of 10 in this ranking

Exness review

EUR/USD raw spread

About 0.2 pips on Myfxbook + US$3.50 per side

Platforms

MT4, MT5, Exness Terminal, Exness Trade app

Minimum deposit

US$10 (Standard)

Why We Recommend Exness

Exness sits at rank 7 with a rating of 80, and it is the account I would choose for platform breadth on a small budget: a US$10 minimum deposit on the Standard account, MT4 and MT5 across desktop, web, and mobile, and share CFDs on MT5. It does not accept US residents, and our review notes it does not serve Australia either.

The trade-off for an MT5 trader is cost data you can trust. Exness advertises EUR/USD from 0.0 pips on the Raw Spread account, but its Myfxbook session averages over 24 to 26 September 2026 ran about 0.2 pips, higher than the advertised figure, and Myfxbook does not name the account. Weigh the US$3.50 per side commission against that real average before you commit.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • US$10 minimum on Standard
  • MT5 handles share CFD trading
  • Demo with US$10,000 virtual
  • MultiTerminal for several accounts

Cons

  • Myfxbook average above advertised
  • Account type unnamed on Myfxbook
  • No cTrader or TradingView
Broker Details

What Exness Charges On MT5

The Raw Spread account charges US$3.50 per side (US$7 round turn) per lot, matching Pepperstone, TabTrade, and Eightcap on this page, and its Myfxbook EUR/USD average of about 0.2 pips over 24 to 26 September 2026 sits above the 0.0 pips advertised. Its Standard account takes no commission and an advertised 0.8 pips spread, suiting small-volume traders. Deposits run from US$10 on Standard and Standard Cent to US$200 on Pro, Raw Spread, and Zero. A demo account with US$10,000 of virtual money lets you trial MT5 before you fund anything. I'd weigh that Myfxbook gap before choosing the Raw Spread account over the Standard.

MetaTrader Set-Up At Exness

MetaTrader 5 at Exness runs on Windows and Mac, iOS, Android, and the web, with MetaTrader 4 (MT4) MultiTerminal alongside for running several accounts at once. MT5 is the platform for share trading here, since MT4 cannot trade shares at Exness. The browser-based Exness Terminal and the Exness Trade app sit beside MetaTrader on the same accounts. There is no cTrader and no TradingView account connection, so if either of those matters to you, look elsewhere on this list. For me, the absence of cTrader and TradingView rules Exness out if either platform is a must, and I'd look to Fusion Markets or IC Markets first.

Traders Toolbox Add-Ons

8. FP Markets

78.4/100
Global score
#8 of 10 in this ranking

FP Markets review

EUR/USD raw spread

0.1 pips, column headed Avg (September 2026) + US$3.00 per side

Platforms

MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, WebTrader

Minimum deposit

US$100

Why We Recommend FP Markets

FP Markets lands at rank 8 on our rating, 78.4. I would send cost-focused MT5 traders here: the Raw account lists EUR/USD at 0.1 pips with US$3.00 per side commission, tying BlackBull Markets and Tickmill for the next lowest on this page behind Fusion Markets' US$2.25, and MT5 comes with a strong add-on stack. It does not accept US residents.

The trade-off is trust and jurisdiction-dependent access. Our Trust score for FP Markets is 6 out of 10, above the 5 scored by BlackBull Markets, Fusion Markets and TabTrade on this page, and social trading tools run only through its offshore entities rather than the ASIC entity. Check which entity you would be signing up with, and what that means for your protections, before you deposit the US$100 minimum.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • US$3.00 per side Raw commission
  • 12-tool Traders Toolbox for MT5
  • VPS, Autochartist, Trading Central
  • WebTrader for MT4 and MT5

Cons

  • Trust score of 6 out of 10
  • Social trading offshore entities only
  • No EAs on WebTrader or mobile
Broker Details

Raw Account Costs

FP Markets' global spreads table, dated September 2026, lists the Raw account EUR/USD at 0.1 pips in a column headed Avg, though its text calls the figures typical and states no averaging method, so treat the number with some caution. Commission is US$3.00 per side (US$6 round turn), tying BlackBull Markets and Tickmill for second-lowest here, behind Fusion Markets' US$2.25. The Standard account lists 1.2 pips in the same Avg column with no commission, and both accounts open from US$100. If you trade volume, that gap against a US$3.50 peer adds up quickly. I'd pick the Raw account for real volume, treating the 0.1 figure as indicative only.

Add-Ons For MT5 Traders

Add-ons for MetaTrader 5 (MT5) include Autochartist, Trading Central, a VPS, and the Traders Toolbox of 12 extra tools, among them an economic calendar, Correlation Trader, Alarm Manager, and Excel RTD, all extending what MT5 gives you out of the box. Expert Advisors do not run on the WebTrader or the mobile apps, so automation needs the desktop platform. Social Trading and Signal Start run only through the offshore entities. FP Markets also won Best Broker for Share CFDs in the 2026 CompareForexBrokers Awards and was named Outstanding Achievement for Best Broker for Scalping. I like the add-on range, and I'd automate on the desktop platform from the start.

FlashTrader EA For MT5

9. Eightcap

77.5/100
Global score
#9 of 10 in this ranking

Eightcap review

EUR/USD raw spread

From 0.0 pips + US$3.50 per side

Platforms

MT4, MT5, TradingView, TradeLocker

Minimum deposit

US$100

Why We Recommend Eightcap

Rank 9 belongs to Eightcap, rated 77.5 by our methodology. I would send you here for platform choice rather than price: our Trading Platform and Range of Markets scores are both 10 out of 10, and MT5 sits beside TradingView and TradeLocker on most entities. It does not accept US residents.

The trade-off is service and cost transparency. Our Customer Service score is 5 out of 10, the weakest on this page, and the Raw account advertises EUR/USD from 0.0 pips, a minimum, with no published average, so your real cost is unknown until you trade. Open a demo and watch the live spread before you commit the US$100 minimum.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Platform and markets scores 10/10
  • FlashTrader EA for MT5
  • Raw commission US$3.50 per side
  • US$100 minimum in every jurisdiction

Cons

  • Customer Service score 5/10
  • Raw spread minimum, no average
  • UK clients get TradingView only
Broker Details

Raw And Standard Costs

The Raw account charges US$3.50 per side (US$7 round turn) per lot with EUR/USD spreads from 0.0 pips, a minimum only, so the figure tells you the floor rather than what you will typically pay, unlike the averages Pepperstone and Fusion Markets publish. Its Standard account advertises a 1.0 pip minimum with no commission, above Fusion Markets' 0.83 on this page. Both accounts open from US$100 in every jurisdiction. Compare the round-turn cost against Tickmill's US$6 before choosing. I'd come to Eightcap for the platform tools rather than the price, since several peers here charge less per round turn.

FlashTrader And Platform Access

FlashTrader, an Expert Advisor for MT5 only, brings automatic position sizing and one-click orders, the sort of tool that makes MT5 the better pick over MetaTrader 4 (MT4) here. Platform access depends on the entity: the Australian and global entities offer MT4, MT5, TradingView, and TradeLocker, EU clients get MT5, TradingView, and TradeLocker with no MT4, and UK clients get TradingView only. Confirm which entity applies to you before planning around MT5. Eightcap was named Outstanding Achievement for both Best MT4 Broker and Best MT5 Broker in the 2026 CompareForexBrokers Awards. I'd settle the entity question first, since UK clients have no MT5 at all.

MT5 On Every Tickmill Entity

10. Tickmill

75.8/100
Global score
#10 of 10 in this ranking

Tickmill review

EUR/USD raw spread

0.1 pips typical + US$3.00 per side

Platforms

MT4, MT5, TradingView, Tickmill Trader, Tickmill app

Minimum deposit

US$100

Why We Recommend Tickmill

Tickmill closes the list at rank 10 with a rating of 75.8. I would send experienced MT5 traders here who want low costs and can live without cTrader: the Raw account charges US$3.00 per side and our Trading Costs score is 9.5 out of 10. It does not accept US residents.

The trade-off is jurisdiction and trust. Our Trust score is 6 out of 10, and platform choice narrows by entity: UK and EU clients get MT4, MT5, and the mobile app only, while TradingView and Tickmill Trader sit on the international entity. Check which entity you would join, and the protections that come with it, before you deposit US$100.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Trading Costs score 9.5 out of 10
  • US$3 per side Raw commission
  • VPS powered by BeeksFX
  • MT5 social trading on Seychelles entity

Cons

  • Trust score 6 out of 10
  • Standard spread 1.6 pips
  • No cTrader
Broker Details

Raw Account Costs

Tickmill's spreads table lists a typical EUR/USD spread of 0.1 pips on the Raw account, labelled typical rather than average with no period stated, a softer claim than Pepperstone's dated average or our own calculation for Fusion Markets. Commission is US$3.00 per side (US$6 round turn), tying BlackBull Markets and FP Markets for the next-lowest commission on this page behind Fusion Markets' US$2.25, which matters directly to your cost per lot. The Standard account charges 1.6 pips with no commission, the highest standard figure here. A US$100 minimum deposit applies. I'd choose the Raw account here, since the Standard's 1.6 pips is the highest spread on this page.

Platforms By Entity

Platform access splits by entity. The international Seychelles entity carries MetaTrader 4 (MT4), MetaTrader 5 (MT5), TradingView, the proprietary Tickmill Trader, and the Tickmill Mobile App, while UK and EU clients get MT4, MT5, and the mobile app only, and there is no cTrader anywhere. Our review would make MT5 the default recommendation for experienced traders because it handles several asset classes, 21 timeframes, and MQL5 automation, with a steeper learning curve for beginners. Tickmill Social Trading, launched in 2025 under the FSA Seychelles, works with MT4 and MT5 accounts on that entity only. I'd default to MT5 here too, though the fuller platform set needs the Seychelles entity.

What MT5 Does Better Than MT4

MetaTrader 5 (MT5) is a multi-asset platform in a way MetaTrader 4 (MT4) never was. It carries 38 built-in technical indicators, 44 graphical objects, 21 timeframes, and 6 pending order types, against MT4’s 30 indicators, 9 timeframes, and 4 pending orders. Several brokers on this page put share CFDs on MT5 only, because MT4 cannot carry them: Pepperstone, MultiBank Group, and Exness all place stock CFDs on MT5 and not on MT4. TabTrade goes further and offers MT5 alone, because MT4 cannot carry its full range of stocks, ETFs, and commodities.

MT5 also adds depth of market, partial order fills, netting as well as hedging, exchange trading where the broker offers it, and fund transfers between accounts. The built-in economic calendar is one more MT4 gap. In my view the biggest practical gain is the strategy tester: it runs multi-currency backtests, where MT4 tests one pair at a time. If you build Expert Advisors in MQL5, that single difference changes how you validate a system before you risk money on it, and our Expert Advisors guide goes deeper on building them.

Where MT4 Still Beats MT5

MT4 still holds ground in two places. Its Expert Advisors and indicators are written in MQL4, and they do not run on MT5 without being rebuilt, so a trader with an existing MT4 library has real switching costs. Our reviews note both cases: Exness says MT5 is not compatible with MT4, and an Eightcap custom indicator had to be rebuilt for MT5. MT5 also takes longer to learn than MT4, a learning curve the Pepperstone, MultiBank Group, Tickmill, and TabTrade reviews all describe.

The platform you can actually get matters too. OANDA offers MT4 but not MT5, while TabTrade offers MT5 but not MT4. So neither platform is universally available across brokers, and your shortlist may decide the question for you. That is worth weighing before you look at how MT5 stacks up against cTrader and TradingView.

How MT5 Compares With MT4, cTrader And TradingView

The table below puts MT5 side by side with MT4, cTrader, and TradingView on the features traders compare most: timeframes, indicators, pending orders, depth of market, the economic calendar, the strategy tester, and the automation language. The numbers come from the platform facts we publish on this site. For a fuller walk-through of the two MetaTrader generations, see our MT4 vs MT5 comparison.

FeatureMT5MT4cTraderTradingView
Timeframes21926Seconds to years
Built-in indicators383070+100+
Pending order types64--
Depth of marketYesNoYes-
Economic calendarYesNo--
Netting and hedgingBothHedging only--
Strategy testerMulti-currencySingle-threaded, one pairBacktesting on historical data-
Automation languageMQL5MQL4C#Pine Script

In short, MT5 suits the trader who wants one platform for several asset classes, netting or hedging, and multi-currency backtesting. cTrader, with 26 timeframes and C# automation, appeals to developers who prefer that language, and you can compare cTrader brokers here. TradingView, with Pine Script, suits chart-first traders. Whichever you pick, the broker sets your spreads, commissions, and leverage, so the choice of broker matters as much as the platform.

You can take both halves of that choice to the trading platforms page, which compares MT5 with MT4, cTrader, TradingView, and the broker-built platforms across sections for each style of trader, and links to the broker ranking for each platform.

How To Choose An MT5 Broker

If you trade automatically or scalp, execution speed and infrastructure come first. In our 2026 execution test, run with MT4 Expert Advisors on demo accounts at 36 brokers, we timed BlackBull’s average limit order at 72 milliseconds while the other 35 brokers averaged 145 milliseconds, with its market orders averaging 90 milliseconds. You can see how each broker compares in the table of limit and market order fill times near the top of this page, where Fusion Markets had the fastest market orders in the test at 77 milliseconds. If you scalp with limit orders, I would weigh the limit-order fill over the market-order figure, and BlackBull Markets at 72 milliseconds is my starting point for that style. TabTrade includes a free MT5-integrated VPS managed from inside the platform, and Fusion Markets offers discounted third-party VPS hosting for MT4 and MT5 through NYC Servers (25% off monthly) and FXVM (20% off monthly). If your Expert Advisors place market orders, I would pair Fusion Markets’ 77-millisecond market fills with its discounted VPS hosting.

If cost is your driver, compare raw accounts on all-in numbers rather than the headline spread. Fusion Markets charges US$2.25 per side (US$4.50 round turn), the lowest commission on this page, and our calculation from its hourly averages for 27 August to 25 September 2026 put its EUR/USD spread at 0.03 pips. TabTrade’s Edge account averaged 0.03 pips for April 2026 on Datalyst tick data, though its commission is US$3.50 per side. Our lowest spread brokers page ranks by published average EUR/USD raw spread, lowest first, with brokers that state how and when they measured coming first. The low commission brokers page ranks by published commission per side on the raw account, lowest first, with ties going to the higher published rating.

MT5 Broker Cost Calculator

MetaTrader 5 traders, enter your monthly volume in standard lots and see each broker's raw-account EUR/USD cost (US$10 per pip per standard lot plus commission on both sides), and brokers lacking a costable figure are listed with the reason.

Figures from the comparison table above · Rates as of Thu 15 Oct 2026, 5pm New York close

Monthly cost for the inputs above, in the order of the comparison table
BrokerSpread costCommissionMonthly cost
PepperstoneUS$10.00US$70.00US$80.00
IC MarketsUS$10.00US$70.00US$80.00
Fusion MarketsUS$3.00US$45.00US$48.00
TabTradeUS$3.00US$70.00US$73.00
FP MarketsUS$10.00US$60.00US$70.00
TickmillUS$10.00US$60.00US$70.00

Not costed

Minimum spread, not an average:BlackBull Markets, Eightcap

Commission not published:MultiBank Group

Approximate figure:Exness

This page's comparison table supplies every spread and commission here, dates each broker's spread in its Raw spread basis column, and lists Exness's spread as Myfxbook's EUR/USD session averages from September 24 to 26, 2026.

If you want to trade share CFDs on MT5, Pepperstone, MultiBank Group, and Exness all place stock CFDs on MT5 rather than MT4. In my view, keeping MT4 access as well is sensible while you migrate any MQL4 tools, and every broker here except TabTrade offers both platforms. Note that Eightcap offers MT4 only on its Australian and global entities, so check the entity before you apply.

If you want to look beyond this top ten, I would also consider ACY Securities, which offers MT4, MT5, and its own ACY Trading Platform, VantageFX with MT4, MT5, TradingView, and its own web platform and app, ThinkMarkets with MT4, MT5, ThinkTrader, and TradingView, and Admiral Markets with MT4 and MT5. Our full reviews cover the accounts and costs of each.

Setting Up MT5 With A Broker

Opening an MT5 account takes five steps, and the order matters because the entity and account type you choose set your costs and protections.

  1. Check which entity and regulator will hold your account before you apply, because the entity decides your leverage cap and any compensation cover.
  2. Choose your account type and check whether it is a netting or hedging account, since MT5 supports both.
  3. Verify your identity and fund the account; minimum deposits on this list run from US$0 to US$200 on the entry accounts.
  4. Download MT5 from your broker or from MetaQuotes and log in with the server details the broker sends.
  5. Start on a demo account or with a small position while you confirm the spreads and execution you were quoted.

How do you check an MT5 broker’s regulation?

Checking an MT5 broker’s regulation starts with the entity, because the company that opens your account decides which regulator supervises it and what compensation cover applies. The brokers on this page are licensed by authorities including the FCA, ASIC, CySEC, BaFin, MAS, and the FMA, alongside offshore regulators such as the FSA in Seychelles, the FSC in Mauritius, the VFSC, and the SCB. Pepperstone alone lists eight regulators across its entities, while TabTrade’s FSC Mauritius licence is held by a sibling entity. Read the entity name in your account agreement, then confirm it on the regulator’s public register before you fund.

Leverage caps differ by entity for the same brand. BlackBull advertises up to 500:1, while TabTrade and MultiBank Group advertise up to 1000:1, and the cap that applies to you is set by the entity that holds your account, so the headline figure may not be yours. No broker on this list accepts US residents. If you trade from Singapore, the country list that follows shows which of these brands serve that market.

FAQs

Is MetaTrader 5 A Broker?
No, MT5 is not a broker, so it cannot be a good broker or a bad one. MetaTrader 5 is a multi-asset trading platform released by MetaQuotes in 2010 as the successor to MetaTrader 4, which dates from 2005. You download MT5 from a broker and log in through that broker, which sets your spreads, commissions, and leverage. Choosing a broker is a separate decision from choosing the platform, which is why this page puts our editors' pick first and ranks the rest by our published rating, highest first.
Is MT5 Free To Use?
Yes, MetaTrader 5 is free to download and use. The costs you pay are the broker's: the spread on each trade and any commission on raw-spread accounts. MT5 runs on Windows and Mac desktop, in a browser through the WebTrader, and on iOS and Android apps. Because the platform itself costs nothing, the differences between MT5 brokers come down to execution, spreads, commissions, and the range of markets each one makes available.
Which MT5 Broker Has The Lowest Commission?
Fusion Markets has the lowest commission of the brokers we rank for MT5, at US$2.25 per side (US$4.50 round turn) per standard lot. BlackBull Markets, FP Markets, and Tickmill charge US$3.00 per side, while Pepperstone, IC Markets, TabTrade, Exness, and Eightcap charge US$3.50. If you trade high volumes, that gap compounds, and Fusion Markets also advertises a 0.83 pip EUR/USD spread on its standard account (Classic), with no commission.
Can You Trade Shares On MT5?
Yes, you can trade shares on MT5, and at several brokers on this page it is the only place share CFDs sit. Pepperstone, MultiBank Group and Exness put stock CFDs on MT5 and not on MetaTrader 4, because MT4 was built for forex and MT5 is a multi-asset platform. Fusion Markets also suggests MT5 if you want to trade shares. Check your broker's MT5 symbol list before you open an account, since the share range differs between brokers.
Do MT4 Expert Advisors Work On MT5?
No, MT4 Expert Advisors do not run on MT5 without being rebuilt. MT4 automation is written in MQL4 and MT5 uses MQL5, and the two are not compatible. Our Exness and Eightcap reviews both note this, including a case where an MT4 custom indicator had to be rebuilt for MT5. If you have an existing MT4 Expert Advisor library, either port it to MQL5 or keep an MT4 account alongside your MT5 one, since many brokers offer both platforms.
Should Beginners Start On MT4 Or MT5?
MT4 is the easier starting point for most beginners, because it is simpler and has fewer moving parts: 30 built-in indicators, 9 timeframes and 4 pending order types. MT5 has 38 indicators, 21 timeframes and 6 pending order types, plus depth of market and multi-currency backtesting, which reviews from Pepperstone to Tickmill describe as a steeper learning curve. If you plan to trade shares or run MQL5 automation, start on MT5. Otherwise, MT4 covers the basics well.
Why Is BlackBull Markets Our Editors’ Pick For MT5?
I rank BlackBull Markets first for MT5 on its 72 ms average limit-order fill, the fastest limit-order time of the 36 brokers in our 2026 execution test on MetaTrader 4 demo accounts, against 145 ms for the other 35. Its ECN Prime account charges a commission of US$3.00 per side, with EUR/USD spreads advertised from 0.0 pips (a minimum) and no minimum deposit, and MetaTrader 5 gives you up to 100 charts at once, 21 timeframes, the MQL5 Wizard, and market depth. It won Best Broker for Scalping in the 2026 CompareForexBrokers Awards.

About the author

Justin Grossbard, Co-Founder of CompareForexBrokers

Justin Grossbard

Justin Grossbard is the Co-Founder and CEO of CompareForexBrokers, which he established with Noam Korbl in 2014. He has over 20 years of professional experience in online marketing and holds a Master's in Marketing from Monash University.

LinkedIn · X / Twitter

Our reviews are reader-supported. We may receive payment when you click a link to a partner site. Learn how we make money.